Mzansi Super League 2018: Durban Heat name Hashim Amla as their marquee player

Mzansi Super League 2018: Durban Heat name Hashim Amla as their marquee player

The player draft is scheduled to be held on October 17.

Hashim Amla of South Africa
Hashim Amla. (Photo Source: Twitter)

The latest T20 league to come into existence is the Mzansi Super League, South Africa’s very own franchise-based tournament. CSA unveiled all the six teams and their team logos ahead of its inaugural season. The process was carried out at the Cricket South Africa (CSA) office on Monday as the teams unveiled their marquee players for the respective franchise.

The tournament will see some of the household names from South African cricket and other big players taking the field. The six-team league is scheduled to run from November 16 to December 16 with 32 games slated to be hosted in the one-month long T20 carnival.

Amla to play for Durban Heat

One of Proteas’ best batsmen, Hashim Amla will take the field for Durban Heat, as confirmed by the franchise. Amla, who has played in a number of leagues around the globe, will be seen donning the shirt for his home-town franchise in the Mzansi Super League. The 35-year old, who has played all his cricket in his early days as a budding cricketer for Durban, will be a huge boost for the franchise as it will also help them build a fan base.

“We’re excited to have Hashim returning to KZN to represent the Durban Heat,” CEO of KZN Cricket Heinrich Strydom said. “He brings with him a wealth of experience both at the highest level as well at Kingsmead, so he has a huge amount of knowledge to share.

“He is one of the most loved cricketers in the country and I am sure that having a player like him in our squad will be a hit with the crowds,” he added.

Marquee players for other teams

The player draft which is scheduled to be held on October 17, will be an “American sports-styled” draft wherein each team will pick one from the six marquee South African players along with an International marquee player. The players include the likes of Faf du Plessis, AB de Villiers, Hashim Amla, JP Duminy, Kagiso Rabada and Imran Tahir, to go down the hammer from South Africa.

While, teams will battle out to pick one each from the international players including the likes of Eoin Morgan, Jason Roy, Dawid Malan, Chris Gayle, Dwayne Bravo, and Rashid Khan

Get the latest Cricket News and updates, Match Predictions, Fantasy Cricket Tips and lots more on