Advertisement

Neil Wagner run-out at Christchurch throws light on lesser-heard-of cricket law

Kagiso Rabada South Africa
South African bowler Kagiso Rabada (R) celebrates the dismissal of New Zealand batsman Neil Wagner. (Photo by GIANLUIGI GUERCIA/AFP/Getty Images)

New Zealand might have won the second Test and completed a whitewash against Bangladesh, but pacer Neil Wagner was involved in somewhat of a controversy when it came to his run out decision in the morning of the fourth day’s play at Christchurch.

Whilst batting, Wagner took a run along with Tim Southee as the Kiwis were building the lead. However, despite the fact that he had completed the second run, Nurul Hasan, the stand-in keeper had flicked the bails off the stumps with an impressive MS Dhoni-esque whip of the red cherry towards the stumps.

Advertisement

While the review was only to be one for the cameras and the formalities, the evidence went on to show that Wagner had indeed been run-out. Of course, one can certainly attest to the fact that he was not grounded whilst completing the run, something that eventually ensured that he had indeed lost his wicket as well.

According to Law 29 (batsman out of his ground), “(a) batsman shall be considered to be out of his ground unless his bat or some part of his person is grounded behind the popping crease at that end.”

In October 2010, the MCC had changed the Law to rule that “if a running batsman, having grounded some part of his foot behind the popping crease, continues running further towards the wicket at that end and beyond, then any subsequent total loss of contact with the ground of both his person and his bat during his continuing forward momentum shall not be interpreted as being out of his ground.” Wagner, however, had yet to ground his foot when the bails came off and were, therefore, run out.

Watch: Neil Wagner’s Bizarre run-out at Christchurch

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Y9HQBD_zCHI

Advertisement