Pakistan A vs England Lions: PCB announces the 13-man squad for T20 series

Pakistan A vs England Lions: PCB announces the 13-man squad for T20 series

The two-match T20 series will be played on December 7 and 8.

Shan Masood
Shan Masood. (Photo by ARIF ALI/AFP/Getty Images)

A 13-member squad for Pakistan A’s two-match T20 series against England Lions was announced on Monday by Pakistan Cricket Board’s (PCB) National Selection Committee headed by Inzamam-ul-Haq. Shan Masood, the left-handed opener, will lead the side that comprises competent batsmen like Israrullah, Mukhtar Ahmed, Mohammad Saad and Adil Amin. The 23-year-old all-rounder Ammad Butt also finds a place in this recently announced squad.

As far as the bowling department is concerned, there is a great deal of solidity as well as versatility with the left-arm pace duo of Rahat Ali and Waqas Maqsood to be ably aided by the six-foot-six-inches tall Mohammad Irfan Jr. The line-up is further embellished by the leg-spinner Mohammad Irfan Khan and the left-arm orthodox bowler Mohammad Irfan.

Series to commence on December 7

The T20 series begins on December 7 with two matches to be played on consecutive days. Both the matches will be played in Sheikh Zayed Stadium Nursery 1 in Abu Dhabi even as Pakistan’s senior team is fighting it out in the same city against New Zealand in the third and final Test match.

The two teams have also got to play the deciding match of the five-match One Day series a couple of days before the T20 tussle starts. After delivering an impressive all-round performance in the fourth One-Day to level the series, Pakistan A have gained momentum and are looking the favourites to seal the series now.

This is a great opportunity for the players to stake their claim for the national side. With T20 World Cup 2020 in sight, the selectors might consider them going forward.

Complete Squad

Shan Masood (C), Mukhtar Ahmed, Israrullah, Adil Amin, Muhammad Saad, Zohaib Khan, Muhammad Hassan (WK), Ammad Butt, Muhammad Irfan (SLA), Muhammad Irfan Jr – Fast Bowler. Muhammad Irfan Khan (RALS), Rahat Ali, Waqas Maqsood.

[interaction id=”5c0507908f812f5d4e0d1b6f”]

Get the latest Cricket News and updates, Match PredictionsFantasy Cricket Tips and lots more on