Pakistan fast bowler Wahab Riaz names his all-time PSL XI

Pakistan fast bowler Wahab Riaz names his all-time PSL XI

Wahab didn't pick Shahid Afridi in the best eleven.

Wahab Riaz
Wahab Riaz. (Photo Source: Twitter)

Wahab Riaz, the veteran Pakistan speedster, has picked his all-time best team in the Pakistan Super League (PSL). The tournament has been a witness to five editions thus far and Islamabad United is the most successful team, having won the championship a couple of times. To start with Wahab picked Peshawar Zalmi’s Kamran Akmal and Karachi Kings’ Babar Azam as his openers.

Kamran and Babar are the top two leading run-scorers in the PSL with the former having three tons. At number three, Riaz went for Fakhar Zaman, who has been an integral part of the Lahore Qalandars, scoring nearly 1,000 runs. For number four, he picked Shoaib Malik, his teammate in the Zalmi. Following Malik was Mohammad Hafeez, who played for the Qalandars last season.

Wahab leaves out Shahid Afridi

In the all-rounder’s list, Wahab started with Mohammad Nawaz, who has 49 wickets in the PSL- the highest for any spinner in the tournament. The left-armer has also been a handy prospect, batting lower down the order. He has been with Sarfaraz Ahmed’s Quetta Gladiators ever since the inaugural edition. Imad Wasim was Wahab’s next choice as the genuine all-rounder.

Though he only has 27 PSL wickets, his economy of 6.97 is worth envying. As far as all-rounders are concerned, he didn’t pick Shahid Afridi, who has been with the Multan Sultans for the last couple of seasons. Wahab put forth his picks during an interview with Cricket Pakistan. Riaz picked Shadab Khan as his specialist spinner. Shadab has 37 wickets from 41 matches in the event.

Last season, he also flourished with the bat, being promoted up the order for the United. Among the fast bowlers, Wahab went for himself, Mohammad Amir and Hasan Ali. Interestingly, they are the top three wicket-takers in the tournament.

Ali has been Wahab’s mate in the Zalmi even as Amir plays for the Kings. Wahab also didn’t pick former national skipper Sarfaraz Ahmed, who has led the Gladiators four times to the playoffs, making them the champions in 2019.

Here’s Wahab Riaz’s XI

Kamran Akmal (wk), Babar Azam, Fakhar Zaman, Shoaib Malik, Mohammad Hafeez, Mohammad Nawaz, Imad Wasim, Shadab Khan, Wahab Riaz, Mohammad Amir, Hasan Ali.