Pakistan vs New Zealand: NZC announces the 13-man T20I squad

Pakistan vs New Zealand: NZC announces the 13-man T20I squad

Trent Boult has been rested for this series while Martin Guptill has been ruled out due to the injury.

Trent Boult
New Zealand. (Photo by Mark Kolbe/Getty Images)

New Zealand and Pakistan will soon be locking horns in the United Arab Emirates after the ongoing Australia series. The Blackcaps’ tour will commence with three T20 Internationals for which the New Zealand Cricket (NZC) has announced the 13-man squad. They have recalled the all-rounder Corey Anderson and the wicketkeeper-batsman Glenn Phillips to the line-up as Kane Williamson continues to lead the side.

The board had earlier selected just 11 players and were later going to add two to the squad after analysing the performances of the New Zealand A team which is currently in the UAE itself facing Pakistan A. Phillips had a wonderful T20 series where he was the highest run-getter with 126 runs to his name, while Anderson could only muster 38 runs and picked one wicket.

Anderson’s selection is interesting as he hasn’t played any international game since the Champions Trophy last year. He had his share of injuries as he had to go through back surgery and then struggled to make an impact in the IPL.

Who are the other players?

The selectors have rested Trent Boult for this series as his new-ball partner Tim Southee will lead the pace attack with Adam Milne, Lockie Ferguson by his side. Williamson will take care of the number three position which he has owned for a few years now and will be assisted by the veteran Ross Taylor in the middle-order.

Colin Munro, Colin de Grandhomme, Tim Seifert, Ish Sodhi, Mark Chapman and Seth Rance are the other players in the line-up who all are top T20 cricketers in the country. This tour will be a stern test for the Kiwis as the hosts will unfurl a plethora of spin bowling with the pitches taking turn from the word go.

The first T20I will be played on October 31 and the tussle in the shortest format will be followed by three ODIs and the same number of Test matches with the tour concluding on December 7.

New Zealand T20I squad: Kane Williamson (c), Corey Anderson, Mark Chapman, Colin de Grandhomme, Lockie Ferguson, Adam Milne, Colin Munro, Glenn Phillips, Tim Seifert, Ish Sodhi, Tim Southee, Ross Taylor, Seth Rance.

[interaction id=”5bcdaf5a41b46fe54157f5f7″]

Get the latest Cricket News and updates of Pakistan vs New Zealand seriesMatch PredictionsFantasy Cricket Tips and lots more on