Pereras back in the Sri Lanka ODI squad for home series against Bangladesh

Pereras back in the Sri Lanka ODI squad for home series against Bangladesh

Kusal Janith Perera Sri Lanka
Kusal Janith Perera of Sri Lanka. (Photo By Seb Daly/Sportsfile via Getty Images)

Sri Lankan selectors announced the 15-man squad for the home One-Day International series against Asian cousins Bangladesh. Following the conclusion of the ongoing Test series, the two sides will meet each other in a 3-match ODI series that kick starts with the opening game on March 25 in Dambulla.

The selection committee has decided to bring back the trio of Kusal Perera, Thisara Perera and Danushka Gunathilaka in the team for the 50 overs series after they were not considered for the Test series. Skipper Angelo Mathews hasn’t managed to recover from the injury and wasn’t available for selection. In his absence, Upul Tharanga has been named the skipper of the team.

Suranga Lakmal the spearhead of the Lankan fast bowling attack has Lahiru Kumara and Vikum Sanjaya for company in the team. In a rather surprising decision, only one spinner has been named in the team- Lakshan Sandakan will miss his partners Jefferey Vandersay while Amila Aponso will also feel missed out.

After faring poorly in the ODI series in South Africa the team made a comeback in the shortest format of the game but that was a lot to do with the way allrounder Asela Gunaratne batted. He played blinders and almost single-handedly took the team over the live from a point where nobody gave them a chance.

Though Bangladesh might not appear as bigger a threat but despite the fact that they are playing at home the Islanders will have to be wary of the Bangladeshi unit that has done exceptionally well at home in limited-overs cricket of late. Sri Lanka will have to seal the spots that have bothered them to ensure a smooth sail in the ODI series.

Sri Lanka ODI squad for home series against Bangladesh:  

Upul Tharanga (C), Niroshan Dickwella, Dhananjaya de Silva, Kusal Mendis, Asela Gunaratne, Dinesh Chandimal, Kusal Perera, Danushka Gunathilaka, Suranga Lakmal, Lahiru Kumara, Vikum Sanjaya, Thisara Perera, Sachith Pathirana, Seekkuge Prasanna, Lakshan Sandakan