'Please continue to watch' - Chris Gayle posts hilarious goodbye message to fans after KXIP gets knocked out of IPL 2020

‘Please continue to watch’ – Chris Gayle posts hilarious goodbye message to fans after KXIP gets knocked out of IPL 2020

KXIP lost to CSK on Sunday and were knocked out of IPL 2020

Chris Gayle
Chris Gayle. (Photo Source: IPL/BCCI)

Chris Gayle and his side Kings XI Punjab’s journey in the ongoing IPL 2020 came to an end on Sunday with a disappointing defeat to Chennai Super Kings. The KL Rahul-led side needed to win the game at all cost to stay alive in the tournament. However, KXIP failed to deliver in the do-or-die clash and ended up losing it by nine wickets.

That KXIP managed to put themselves into the playoffs race at the fag end of the season is largely because of Gayle. The former KKR and RCB opener didn’t get a chance in KXIP’s playing eleven for the first seven games. They had managed to win just one of their first seven games before finally recalling Gayle to the playing eleven.

Gayle hit the ground running and helped KXIP win five games on the trot. He scored 288 runs in just seven games with the help of three fifties including the 99-run knock against Rajasthan Royals. But on Sunday, the veteran batsman failed to deliver against CSK as KXIP lost the game to exit the competition at the league stage once again.

Chris Gayle’s message for fans

Hours after KXIP’s run in IPL 2020 came to an end, Chris Gayle posted a message for his fans on Twitter. The West Indian legend jokingly urged everyone to keep watching the league despite him not being a part of it anymore. “Plz continue to watch @IPL even though my season has come to an end. Thank you,” Chris Gayle said on Twitter.

Unsurprisingly, his message left the fans in splits. Their reactions in the comment section made it clear that Chris Gayle had managed to entertain them again. Former India batsman Yuvraj Singh was also amused by the tweet from the Universe Boss and replied to it with a laughing emoji.

Meanwhile, three teams have already confirmed their places in the playoffs. Mumbai Indians were the first before Royal Challengers Bangalore and Delhi Capitals followed suit. Mumbai Indians will finish the league stage at the first spot followed by Delhi Capitals. The fourth team will be decided on Tuesday after the match between Mumbai and Sunrisers Hyderabad.