PSL 7 players' draft likely to take place in December 2021

PSL 7 players’ draft likely to take place in December 2021

PSL 7 likely start in late January 2022.

Multan Sultans PSL 2021
Multan Sultans defeated Peshawar Zalmi to lift the PSL 2021 trophy. (Photo Source: Twitter)

The players’ draft of the seventh edition of the Pakistan Super League (PSL) is expected to take place in December. According to Geo News, the draft will be conducted during the second week of December. The officials have already been asked to start with the preparations.

The tentative dates for the are December 8 to 10. The seventh edition of Pakistan’s T20 league will kick off in the fourth week of January next year. While the first phase of the tournament will be taking place in Karachi, the second leg of the tournament will be staged in Lahore

As it was recently announced that Australia are set to tour Pakistan in the month of March, the tournament will commence earlier in January. Initially, the PSL use to take place in the UAE. However, the last few seasons have seen it being staged in Pakistan. The schedule of the upcoming PSL season is expected to be announced by December, if not earlier.

The previous season saw Multan Sultans lift the trophy as they defeated Peshawar Zalmi to win their maiden PSL title. As a matter of fact, the final turned out to be a cracker of a contest as Rizwan’s men won the game by 47 runs. Shoaib Maqsood went on to win the player of the match award in the final, and also won the player of the series award as well.

Over the years, PSL as a T20 league has emerged as one of the best T20 leagues in the world. Several world class cricketers participate in this tournament. It will be exciting to see who wins it this time around.

The six-team tournament has seen Islamabad United win the title on two occasions, the most by any side. Babar Azam has been the most successfully batter in the history of the league, he has scored the most number of runs in PSL history (2070). Peshawar Zalmi’s Wahab Riaz has been the most successful bowler in the history of this league. He is the leading wicket-taker in the history of PSL as of now (94).