Quiz: How well did you follow the Indian Premier League (IPL)?

It’s time to check out your knowledge in this quiz based on IPL.

It’s time to check out your knowledge in this quiz based on IPL.
IPL Quiz
Pawan Ashok Sharma

Jr. Statistician

View : 2.1K

3 Min Read

Get every cricket updates! Follow us on

The brand new season of the Indian Premier League (IPL) gets underway from March 26, 2022, with the first match taking place between Chennai Super Kings (CSK) and Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR), a re-match of the last year’s final, at the Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai. This year the excitement level for IPL will rise even more as two new teams – Gujarat Titans and Lucknow Super Giants – are introduced, making it the tournament of ten teams. Over the 14 years, the league has never ever disappointed cricket lovers around the world with its nail-biting matches, action-packed encounters, and memorable moments.

Notably, all the 70 matches in the league stage of IPL 2022 will be held in Maharashtra across four venues. The three grounds in Mumbai namely Wankhede Stadium, Brabourne Stadium, and DY Patil Sports Stadium are set to host a total of 55 games while the Maharashtra Cricket Association Stadium in Pune will stage the remaining 15 clashes in the cash-rich league. Notably, 10 teams are featuring in IPL for the first time since the year 2011.

MI and CSK share nine titles between them

Two of the most successful franchises in the history of IPL, Chennai Super Kings and Mumbai Indians share a staggering nine trophies between them out of the 14 seasons played. Both sides clashed in 2010 final in Navi Mumbai and it was CSK, who was triumphed. They also won the title next year in 2011 by beating Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) in the summit clash. After returning from a two-year ban in 2018, CSK lifted their third trophy in 2018 when they beat SRH in the final. MS Dhoni led his side to the fourth title last year when they emerged victorious against KKR in the ultimate clash.

On the other hand, Mumbai Indians have won the trophies under the leadership of Rohit Sharma. They clinched the title for the first time in the year 2013. Their second trophy success came in 2015 where they once agains defeated CSK in the summit clash. In 2017, they got over the line against Rising Pune Supergiants and in 2019 against CSK. Their fifth and last success came in the year 2020. Notably, CSK and MI are the only teams to win back-to-back titles. KKR couldn’t manage to achieve this feat as they won the trophies in 2012 and 2014.

Notably, with the addition of the two new teams, cricket fans around the globe are already excited and pumped up for the tournament. With the season being underway, the 2022 IPL is all set to enthrall the fans with its high-voltage and mouth-watering encounters, drama, emotions, and action. The 15th season of the IPL promises to be one solid tournament with cricket lovers being glued to their television sets for over a two-month-long period.

Meanwhile, let’s check your knowledge in this quiz based on the history of the Indian Premier League