Ranji Trophy 2016-17, Quarter-finals, Day 4 – Review 

Gujarat Ranji Trophy
Gujarat. (Photo Source: The Hindu)

Jharkhand became the second team after Tamil Nadu to seal a semi-final berth in the Ranji trophy 2016/17 after completing a comprehensive 5-wicket win over Haryana on day three. Set a challenging target of 176, Ishan Kishan, former India Under-19 captain, blasted a 61-ball 86 to set up an emphatic win.

Resuming to bat at their overnight score of 146 for 2, Haryana lost wickets in clumps and were reduced to 195 for 7. The tail-enders tried getting things back in order but could finally manage only 262. Shahbaz Nadeem, the ace in the Jharkhand bowling attack, added snapped 4/ 78 to compliment hi 7/79 in the first innings.


Mumbai gained a firm grip over the match with the help of Vijay Gohil’s 5 wicket haul which helped them reduce Hyderabad to 121/7. Resuming the day on 102 for 3, the defending champions posted 217 in the second innings and set Hyderabad 232 runs to win.

Tanmay Agarwal and Bharat Arun kicked off the chase on a bright note after losing opener Akshath Reddy early. However, Gohil brought a twist and carved an opening in the middle order to create collapse leaving the chasing side with more 111 runs to win with just three wickets in hand.

For Gujarat, opener Samit Gohel’s, amplified his overnight score of 110 and registered his maiden double hundred to solidify Gujarat’s position in the match against Orissa. The Oriya bowlers basically looked listless as the opener gathered runs with absolute ease and calmness. Gohel’s knock ensured that his team is safely through to the semifinal where they will meet the highly confident Jharkhand.

Brief Scores:


Mumbai: 293 (Siddesh Lad 110, Milind 5/80) and 102/3 (Tare 39*, Siraj 2/36)

Hyderabad: 280 (Tanmay Agarwal 82, Nayar 4/59) & 127/ 7 (B Anirudh 40*; Vijay Gohil 5-28)


Gujarat: 263 (Chirag Gandhi 81, Basant Mohanty 5/68) & 514/8 (Samit Gohel 261*; Dhiraj Singh 5/139)

Odisha: 199 (Pradhan 47, Jasprit Bumrah 5/41)


Haryana: 258 (Rajat Paliwal 42, Shahbaz Nadeem 7/79) & 262 (CK Bishnoi 52, Nadeem 4/78

Jharkhand: 345 (Virat Singh 107, Harshal Patel 4/46) & 178/5 (Ishan Kishan 86; SM Pahal 2/43)