Ranji Trophy 2017-18: Hyderabad announce squad for match against Assam

Hyderabad are placed fifth in the pool with 1 win in 4 matches.

Pragyan Ojha facts
Pragyan Ojha. (© PUNIT PARANJPE/AFP/Getty Images)

The Hyderabad Cricket Association (HCA) recently named the 15-man squad for their upcoming Ranji Trophy fixture. The team will be taking on Assam in the match that commences on November 17. This will be an away game for the Hyderabadi side as the match will be played at Guwahati. The HCA Secretary, T. Shesh Narayan, announced the team and the support staff of the team for the match.

Veteran batsman Ambati Rayudu has been named as the captain of the team. Sumanth Kotla has been named as his deputy for the fixture. The team looks like a settled line up with a balance between the veteran names and the youngsters. In the batting department, promising cricketer Ashish Reddy is a big name.


Tanmay Agarwal, who has loads of experience in Ranji Trophy cricket, has also been named in the squad. In the bowling department, the big name of Pragyan Ojha can be noted. Ojha will be shouldering the bulk of the responsibility in the bowling department. Mohammad Siraj, the promising pacer who recently made his international debut, is not a part of the squad. He is currently at the NCA, Bengaluru, where he is undergoing fitness tests for the upcoming limited overs contest against Sri Lanka.

Meanwhile, the support staff of the team pretty much remains the same. K. Pratap has been named as the manager of the team. J Arun Kumar, a big name when it comes to coaching, will be the head coach.

Commenting on the current plight of the two sides of the group A, Hyderabad are placed fifth in the pool with 1 win in 4 matches. They have lost one and drawn two. Meanwhile, Assam languish at the bottom in the group with 2 defeats in 4 matches.

Hyderabad Squad for the match against Assam:

Ambati Rayudu (c), Sumanth Kotla (vc), P. Akshat Reddy, Tanmay Agarwal, B. Sandeep, A Aashish Reddy, Pragyan Ojha, Mehdi Hasan, M Ravi Kiran, T Ravi Teja, Akash Bhandari, Saketh Sairam, Rohith Rayudu, Mohd. Mudassir Hussain, Sudeep Tyagi.

Team Management:

Manager – Mr. K. Pratap

Coach – Mr. J. Arun Kumar

Bowling Coach – Mr. MP Singh

Physio – Mr. Bhism Pratap Singh

Video Analyst – Mr. Santosh BM

Masseur – Mr. Syed Sajid Hussain