Ranji Trophy 2018-19: Hardik Pandya included in Baroda squad to face Mumbai

Ranji Trophy 2018-19: Hardik Pandya included in Baroda squad to face Mumbai

Pandya will be keen to prove his fitness.

Hardik Pandya
Hardik Pandya. (Photo by Stu Forster/Getty Images)

Indian all-rounder Hardik Pandya has been named in the Ranji squad for Baroda to face Mumbai. Pandya, who was been ruled out of the ongoing Test and the preceding T20I series against Australia due to the back injury he sustained during the Asia Cup. The Baroda all-rounder will look to make a comeback in the national team for the three-match ODI series against Australia.

The 25-year old will replace Babashafi, who is yet another all arounder for the side to square off against the hosts at the Wankhede Stadium. The Baroda all-rounder has shone in the Indian team since making his debut and has not only put his hands but also has a potential to fill all-rounder’s spot.

The Group A Ranji Trophy game between Baroda and Mumbai on December 14. The news was confirmed by Snehal Parikh, who is the secretary-in-charge for the Baroda according to Indian Express.

Hardik Pandya, before the Asia Cup, played an integral part in India’s tour of England when he took his first five-wicket haul in Tests at Nottingham to lead the visitors to a crushing win. Known as the limited-overs specialist, he has been part of 38 ODI fixtures, taking 45 wickets and scoring 629 runs.

Yusuf Pathan also named in the squad

Yusuf Pathan has also been selected alongside Hardik Pandya. Apart from the two all-rounders, the squad also includes pacers in Lukman Meriwala, Rishi Arothe and the skipper Kedar Devdhar.

The Baroda team are on the 5th position, having 13 points in the overall mix of Group A and Group B. They have won a game and lost a game along with three matches resulting in a draw. Mumbai, who are the 41-time champions in the Ranji Trophy are lingering on the bottom of the table and struggling with five points.

Baroda Squad: Kedar Devdhar(c), Aditya Waghmode, Vishnu Solanki, Swapnil Singh, Yusuf Pathan, Bhargav Bhatt, Soeb Tai, Lukman Meriwala, Rishi Arothe, Shivalik Sharma, Mitesh Patel(wk), Dhiren Mistry, Soyeb Soparia, Shivalik Sharma, and Hardik Pandya.

[interaction id=”5c0d27656c97ee83cff35cfe”]

Get the latest Cricket News and updates, Match PredictionsFantasy Cricket Tips and lots more on CricTracker.com.