Ranji Trophy 2019-20: Round 4, Day 2- Round-up

Ranji Trophy 2019-20: Round 4, Day 2- Round-up

In the high-octane clash between Punjab and Delhi, Dhruv Shorey(96) and Nitish Rana (64) guided Delhi to the total of 194/4.

Riyan Parag News
Riyan Parag. (Photo Source: Facebook)

The fourth round of the ongoing 2019-20 Ranji Trophy- comprising many enthralling games- kicked off across the length and breadth of the country today. After the first Day’s action, the matches resumed on their second Day with many staggering performances.

In the encounter between Uttarakhand and Assam, the latter posted 294 runs on the board on the back of a brilliant century by Riyan Parag. In reply, Uttarakhand suffered early blows as Ranjit Mali scalped three wickets while conceding only 11 runs. Mizoram also showcased excellent batting performance against Bihar as they amassed 378 runs on the board courtesy Pratik Desai’s staggering knock of 192 runs. In reply, Babul Kumar and Rahmatullah smashed half-centuries to propel Bihar to the score of 226 runs.

Manipur are on the verge of losing their encounter against Goa after the latter posted 553 runs on the board. On the second Day, Manipur suffered early blows before the stumps as they lost four wickets at a meagre score of 21 runs. Manipur now trail by 426 runs. In the match between Jharkhand and Jammu & Kashmir, Jharkhand was all out after amassing 259 runs on the board. In reply, Suryansh Raina scored 76 for Jammu to steer them to the total of 135-5.

After decimating Maharashtra in the first innings, Services continued their lethal bowling performance as they crushed Maharashtra’s batting in the second innings too. Maharashtra are currently reeling at 93/5 and are on the verge of defeat as they still trail by 148 runs. After posting a meagre total of 123, Haryana showed impressive bowling performance as they bowled Chhatisgrath for 119 runs. Similarly, Railways dismantled Baroda’s 2nd innings. Baroda could only amass 98 runs on the scoreboard and now, Railways need 201 runs to clinch the encounter.

In the high-octane clash between Punjab and Delhi, Dhruv Shorey(96) and Nitish Rana (64) guided Delhi to the total of 194/4 on Day 2. Earlier, Punjab were able to post 313 runs on the scoreboard. After bowling Karnataka out for 218 runs, Mumbai gathered 109 runs on the board in the second innings. Sarfaraz Khan’s unbeaten knock of 53 runs on Day 2 has put Mumbai at the top in the clash.

Here are the brief scores:

Services vs Maharashtra- Elite Group C
MAH, 1st innings: 44/10 (Chirag Khurana 14, Satyajeet Bachhav 11, Poonam Poonia 5/11)
SER, 1st innings: 285/10 (Ravi Chauhan 65, Arjun Sharma 47, Manoj Ingale 5/73)
MAH, 2nd innings: 93/5 (Naushad Shaikh 40, Sachidanand Pandey 3/20)

Uttarakhand vs Assam- Elite Group C
ASM 1st innings: 294/10 (Riyan Parag 123, Gokul Sharma 47, Sunny Rana 3/34)
UTK 1st innings: 32/4 (Arya Sethi 12, Ranjit Mali 3/11)

Tripura vs Odisha- Elite Group C
No play due to rain

Bihar vs Mizoram- Plate Group
MIZ 1st innings: 378/10 (Pratik Desai 192, Taruwar Kohli 95, Ashutosh Aman 5/107)
BIH 1st innings: 226/8 (Babul Kumar 85, MD Rahmatullah 58, Taruwar Kohli 4/61)

Goa vs Manipur- Plate Group
MNP 1st innings: 106/10 (Al Bashid Muhammed 43, Rex Singh 21, Vijesh Prabhudessai 6/14)
GOA 1st innings: 553-5 (Sumiran Amonkar 115, Smit Patel 100, Rex Singh 2/78)
MNP 2nd innings: 21-4 (Al Bashid Muhammed 11, Amit Verma 3/10)

Meghalaya vs Puducherry- Plate Group
PDC 1st innings: 80/10 (Vinay Kumar 27, Sanjay Yadav 8/31)
MGLY 1st innings: 65/10 (Puneet Bisht 43, Sagar Udeshi 5/10)

Nagaland vs Chandigarh- Plate Group
CDG 1st innings: 263/3 (Manan Vohra 107, Arslan Khan 87, Nagaho Chishi 2/34)

Sikkim vs Arunachal Pradesh- Plate Group
No play due to rain

Jharkhand vs Jammu and Kashmir- Elite Group C
JKHD 1st innings: 259/10 (Saurabh Tiwary 81, Kumar Deobrat 35, Abid Mushtaq 5/56)
JK 1st innings: 135/3 (Suryansh Raina 76, Henan Malik 24, Ashish Kumar 3/46)

Chhattisgarh vs Haryana- Elite Group C
HAR 1st innings: 123/10 (Ajit Chahal 34, Pankaj Kumar Rao 3/26)
CG 1st innings: 119/10 (Vishal Kushwah 45, Jiwanjot Singh 24, Ajit Chahal 5/24)

Bengal vs Gujarat- Elite Group A and B
GUJ 1st innings: 46/1 (Priyank Panchal 25, Ishan Porel 1/17)

Hyderabad vs Kerala- Elite Group A and B
HYD 1st innings: 193/8 (Kolla Sumanth 91, Sandeep Warrier 4/54)
KER 1st innings: 164/10 (Salman Nizar 37, Ravi Kiran 4/39)

Punjab vs Delhi- Elite Group A and B
PUN 1st innings: Mandeep Singh 81, Akul Pandove 44, Tejas Baroka 3/43)
DEL 1st innings: 195/4 (Dhruv Shorey 96, Nitish Rana 64*, Mayank Markande 1/28)

Rajasthan vs Andhra- Elite Group A and B
AP 1st innings: 257/10 (CR Gnaneshwar 73, Rituraj Singh 4/36)
Rajasthan 1st innings: 23/2 (Yash Kothari 11, Shoaib Md Khan 1/6)

Himachal Pradesh vs Madhya Pradesh- Elite Group A and B
HP 1st innings: 175/10 (Akash Vashist 33, Avesh Khan 5/52)
MP 1st innings: 364/7 (Rameez Khan 161, Pankaj Jaiswal 4/82)

Mumbai vs Karnataka- Elite Group A and B
MUM 1st innings: 194/10 (Suryakumar Yadav 77, V Koushik 3/45)
KAR 1st innings: 218/10 (Ravikumar Samarth 86, Shashank Attarde 5/58)
MUM 2nd innings: 109/5 (Sarfaraz Khan 53, Abhimanyu Mithun 3/52)

Uttar Pradesh vs Tamil Nadu- Elite Group A and B
TN 1st innings: 165/6 (Laxmesha Suryaprakash 51, Saurabh Kumar 3/39)

Baroda vs Railways- Elite Group A and B
BRD 1st innings: 201/1 (Deepak Hooda 86, Amit Mishra 4/51)
RLY 1st innings: 99/10 (Dinesh Mor 26, Anureet Singh 5/39)
BRD 2nd innings: 98/10 (Vishnu Solanki 44, Himanshu Sangwan 4/24)
RLY 2nd innings: 0/1 (Anureet Singh 1/0)