Ranji Trophy 2019-20: Round 5, Day 2- Round-up

Ranji Trophy 2019-20: Round 5, Day 2- Round-up

Cheteshwar Pujara hogged the limelight by smashing his seventh double hundred in the Ranji Trophy.

Cheteshwar Pujara
Cheteshwar Pujara. (Photo Source: Twitter)

The fourth round of the ongoing 2019-20 Ranji Trophy- comprising many enthralling games- kicked off across the length and breadth of the country today. After the first Day’s action, the matches resumed on their second Day with many staggering performances.

Cheteshwar Pujara hogged the limelight by smashing his seventh double hundred in the Ranji Trophy. He was also assisted by Sheldon Jackson, who played a brilliant knock of 161 runs to steer Saurashtra to a mammoth total of 581/7. The duo added 394 runs together before Jackson got out.

Devdutt Padikkal, who has been in superb form lately, was not successful in providing Karnataka with a good start. Meanwhile, Vidarbha registered a thumping victory on Day 2 itself after bowling out Bengal on 99 in their second innings. Aditya Sarwate was the pick of the bowlers as he scalped six wickets to dismantle Bengal’s batting attack.

In the encounter between Mumbai and Tamil Nadu, the former posted a massive 488-run total on the scoreboard. Skipper Aditya Tare led his side from the front as he exhibited a brilliant knock of 154 runs. He was also assisted by Shashank Attarde at the end, who smashed a brilliant half-century. In reply, Tamil Nadu posted 66 runs before stumps without the loss of any wickets as Abhinav Mukund scored an unbeaten 52.

After Parvez Rasool’s brilliant 182-run knock, Services retaliated by amassing 238 runs on the scoreboard on the second day. Their lower-order trio comprising Arjun Sharma, Arun Bamal and Diwesh Pathania delivered crucial contribution with the bat to propel Servies’ total to 238/9.

After dismissing Gujarat for 325 runs, Rajasthan gathered 142 runs on the board on the completion od Day 2. Manendar Singh scored an unbeaten 61 to guide Rajasthan to a flying start. He was assisted by Yash Kothari (45) and Mahipal Lomror (32).

Andhra Pradesh also showcased a robust batting display against Hyderabad as their total read 237/1 on the conclusion of Day 2. Prashanth Kumar smashed 117 runs along with Gnaneshwar, who scored 73 runs, to propel Andhra to a stable start. After the dismissal of Gnaneshwar, skipper Hanuma Vihari steadied Andhra’s ship by his steady 41-run knock.

Maharashtra batting force also stood out against Jharkhand. The Ankit Bawne-led side gathered a massive 434-run total on the board on the back of some astounding individual performances. Azim Kazi (140) and Vishant More (120) smashed brilliant tons to decimate Jharkhand’s bowling unit. In reply, Jharkhand lost two wickets in the first over itself against Mukesh Choudhary.

Brief Scores

Manipur vs Bihar, Plate group
BIH 1st innings: 431/10 (Indrajit Kumar 134; Bishworjit Konthoujam 3/41)
MNP 1st innings: 40/4 (Chingangbam Singh 23; Abhijeet Saket 2/11)

Assam vs Chhattisgarh, Elite Group C
CG 1st innings: 318/10 (Amandeep Khare 105; Ranjit Mali 4/80)
ASM 1st innings: 209/3 (Rishav Das 99; Veer Pratap Singh 2/65)

Maharashtra vs Jharkhand, Elite Group C
MAH 1st innings: 434/10 (Azim Kazi 140; Utkarsh Singh 5/130)
JHKD 1st innings: 2/2 (Utkarsh Singh 2; Mukesh Choudhary 2/2)

Tripura vs Uttarakhand, Elite Group C
UTK 1st innings: 90/10 (Unmukt Chand 26; Ajoy Sarkar 4/19)
TRI 1st innings: 104/2 (Samrat Singha 29; Rahil Shah 1/14)

Chandigarh vs Sikkim, Plate group
SKM 1st innings: 264/10 (Yashpal Singh 80; Jagjit Singh 4/53)
CDG 1st innings: 338/8 (Gurinder Singh 99; Ishwar Chaudhary 4/88)

Puducherry vs Goa, Plate group
GOA 1st innings: 270/10 (Amit Verma 121; Ashith Rajiv 5/45)
PDC 1st innings: 260/10 (Paras Dogra 194; Felix Alemao 6/73)
GOA 2nd innings: 0/0 (Sumiran Amonkar 0; Vinay Kumar 0/0)

Nagaland vs Arunachal Pradesh, Plate group
NGL 1st innings: 534/7 (Shrikant Mundhe 166; Techi Neri 3/144)
ARNP 1st innings: 141/4 (Rahul Dalal 64; Shrikant Mundhe 3/32)

Jammu and Kashmir vs Services, Elite Group C
JK 1st innings: 360/10 (Parvez Rasool 182; Diwesh Pathania 4/103)
SER 1st innings: 238/9 (Arun Bamal 48; Mohammed Mudhasir 3/38)

Haryana vs Odisha, Elite Group C
HAR 1st innings: 90/10 (Shubham Rohilla 20; Suryakant Pradhan 6/36)
ODSA 1st innings: 160/10 (Biplab Samantray 52; Tinu Kundu 5/25)
HAR 2nd innings: 218/5 (Shubham Rohilla 48; Rajesh Mohanty 2/50)

Uttar Pradesh vs Baroda, Elite Group A and B
UP 1st innings: 431/10 (Mohammad Saif 123; Swapnil Singh 3/47)
BRD 1st innings: 82/1 (Aditya Waghmode 34; Ankit Rajpoot 1/33)

Kerala vs Punjab, Elite Group A and B
KER 1st innings: 227/10 (Salman Nizar 91; Baltej Singh 3/33)
PUN 1st innings: 218/10 (Mandeep Singh 71; MD Nidheesh 7/88)
KER 2nd innings: 88/5 (Akshay Chandran 31; Gurkeerat Singh Mann 4/27)

Rajasthan vs Gujarat, Elite Group A and B
GUJ 1st innings: 325/10 (Samit Gohel 93; Rituraj Singh 5/74)
RAJ 1st innings: 142/1 (Manender Narender Singh 61; Piyush Chawla 1/22)

Vidarbha vs Bengal, Elite Group A and B
BEN 1st innings: 170/10 (Manoj Tiwary 48; Akshay Wakhare 5/56)
VID 1st innings: 212/10 (Faiz Fazal 51; Arnab Nandi 3/51)
BEN 2nd innings: 99/10 (Anustup Majumdar 29; Aditya Sarwate 6/47)
VID 2nd innings: 61/1 (Akshay Karnewar 28; Arnab Nandi 1/16)

Andhra vs Hyderabad, Elite Group A and B
HYD 1st innings: 225/10 (Jaweed Ali 98; KV Sasikanth 5/60)
AP 1st innings: 237/1 (Prasanth Kumar 117; Mehdi Hassan 1/71)

Railways vs Madhya Pradesh, Elite Group A and B
MP 1st innings: 124/10 (Rajat Patidar 38; Himanshu Sangwan 3/66)
RLYS 1st innings: 244/10 (Dinesh Mor 45; Kuldeep Sen 3/36)
MP 2nd innings: 47/2 (Ajay Rohera 19; Pradeep T 1/6)

Saurashtra vs Karnataka, Elite Group A and B
SAUR 1st innings: 581/7 (Cheteshwar Pujara 248; Praveen Dubey 2/80)
KAR 1st innings: 13/1 (Rohan Kadam 7; Jaydev Unadkat 1/8)

Tamil Nadu vs Mumbai, Elite Group A and B
MUM 1st innings: 488/10 (Aditya Tare 154; R Sai Kishore 4/125)
TN 1st innings: 66/10 (Abhinav Mukund 52; Royston Dias 0/4)