Ranking India’s top 10 T20I match-winners of all-time

Ranking India’s top 10 T20I match-winners of all-time

Over the years, India has become one of the most formidable sides in T20I as well.

MS Dhoni
MS Dhoni. (Photo Source: Getty Images)

T20I cricket during the time of its inception was never a format which looked well gratifying neither to the Indian players nor to the BCCI. Although the format was initially recognized and approved for international fixtures but in reality, it was just a cricket’s freak show. But by the time when the first ICC glory arrived (2007 T20 World Cup) who knew that conquering this prestigious accolade would entirely disrupt and change the fortunes of Indian Cricket.

When Yuvraj Singh had slaughtered Stuart Board for six sixes in an over, the concept of IPL, BCCI’s own city-based franchise league was laying its fate into the boardrooms of its parent body. The life state of Indian cricket was rocketed to new heights when Sreesanth took Misbah-ul-Haq’s catch thus unveiling the Dhoni phenomenon. 

With more than 13 years since the format has sensationalized, in the entire world cricket, India has become one of the formidable teams and its players are idolized all around the world. Hence here’s a list of India’s top 10 match winners of all time. 

Here are India’s top 10 match-winners in T20I cricket

10. Ravichandran Ashwin

Ravichandran Ashwin
Ravichandran Ashwin of India. (Photo by Quinn Rooney/Getty Images)

Although he may no more be in India’s limited-overs setup, but his seven years of limited-overs career exhibits enough to have him in this list. His T20I stats are impressive as the finger spinner has webbed 52 wickets from 46 matches with an economy rate touching 7. 

Ashwin’s best match-winning performance exhibited when Sri Lanka had toured India for a three-match T20I series. Not only he was the player of the series for grabbing nine wickets but he also bowled an exhilarating spell of four wickets which included a maiden and an economy rate of 2, bundling Sri Lanka for a score of 82. 

Ashwin has in total featured in three T20I World Cups (2012, 2014, 2016) for India since his debut in 2010. In his formative years, he was always Captain Dhoni’s preferred man for getting crucial scalps. His last T20I game had come against West Indies in 2017, and ever since then, he has never been on the selection radar for T20Is.