Watch: The rarest stumping dismissal ever

Watch: The rarest stumping dismissal ever

Watch: The rarest stumping dismissal ever: It is the Under-19 World Cup Final – the grandest stage in a cricketer’s youth career. India is struggling at 120/4 in the 35th over while batting first. Mohammad Yaseen Vallie, the bowler, throws a wide but low full toss. Surabh Tiwary misses and the wicket-keeper Bradley Graeme Barnes whips off the bails.

Surabh Tiwary is well inside the crease then what they appealing for? Think is it the runner out of the crease? Is it really possible that a batsman be stumped if his runner is out of the crease? Never seen or heard of it before!

The umpire has asked the 3rd umpire to review this appeal. TV replays show that Tiwary was well inside the crease, as seen in the video earlier, and his foot was nicely grounded but the runner Tanmay Manoj Srivastava is well outside his crease. Unfortunately, Tiwary has to go, heart-breaking but all his effort wasted by his own partner, his runner. India is 5 down now.

Law 38 and Law 39 from the MCC Rule-Book for Cricket are about run-outs and stumpings. Some part of it states that:

If either the injured batsman or his runner is out of his ground, the batsman is liable to be run out or stumped. The runner is also subject to other laws such as obstructing the field and handling the ball.”

Also, the Law 2.8 from the Laws of Cricket state that:

“(a) A batsman’s runner is subject to the Laws. He will be regarded as a batsman except where there are specific provisions for his role as a runner.

(b) A batsman with a runner will suffer the penalty for any infringement of the Laws by his runner as though he had been himself responsible for the infringement. In particular he will be out if his runner is out under any of Laws 33 (Handled the ball), 37 (Obstructing the field) or 38 (Run out).

(c) When a batsman with a runner is striker he remains himself subject to the Laws and will be liable to the penalties that any infringement of them demands. Additionally, if he is out of his ground when the wicket is put down at the wicket-keeper’s end, he will be out in the circumstances of Law 38 (Run out) or Law 39 (Stumped) irrespective of the position of the non-striker or of the runner. If he is thus dismissed, runs completed by the runner and the other batsman before the dismissal shall not be scored. However, the penalty for a No ball or a Wide shall stand, together with any penalties to either side that may be awarded when the ball is dead. See Law 42.17 (Penalty runs).”

So, Surabh Tiwary is rightly given out under the laws of cricket, as stated above.

Watch: The rarest stumping dismissal ever: