RCB launch new jersey design ahead of IPL 2020

RCB launch new jersey design ahead of IPL 2020

RCB unveiled a new logo as well on Friday.

AB de Villiers and Virat Kohli
AB de Villiers and Virat Kohli. (Photo Source: Twitter)

The Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) are on a spree to surprise their fans it seems. On Friday morning, they unveiled a new logo which depicts the rampant lion returning to the royal lineage. However, soon after they posted another tweet stating that there is another surprise. And that is about their new jersey for the upcoming Indian Premier League (IPL) season.

The franchise, earlier this week, announced a three-year partnership with Muthoot Fincorp Ltd, a part of the Muthoot Pappachan Group, popularly known as Muthoot Blue. And not surprisingly, they are title sponsors this time around. Muthoot Fincorp is written at the centre of the jersey even as shade of the newly launched logo also features in the lower half of the jersey. The jersey is perfectly balanced with black and red colour in two halves separated by golden piping.

“Presenting to you, the RCB Jersey design for Vivo IPL 2020. We are excited to welcome @MuthootIndia as our title sponsor. #PlayBold #NewDecadeNewRCB,” RCB’s tweet read.

Here’s the tweet:

Fans irked with the RCB for not changing the team’s name

Meanwhile, ahead of all the build-up to the unveiling of the logo, the reports emerged that the franchise is set to be renamed as the Royal Challengers Bengaluru from Royal Challengers Bangalore. It was also reported that the fans weren’t happy with ‘Bangalore’ word and wanted it to be changed to ‘Bengaluru’. However, all speculations turned out to be false when the franchise unveiled the logo.

The local fans are irked with the RCB as well for not changing the team name and trolled them as well. While some of them advised the management to change the players and not the logo, few were scathing in their criticism of the team for not winning the trophy. RCB, led by Virat Kohli, though will be keen to change their fortunes and finally win that elusive trophy this year.

They have qualified for the IPL final thrice before, the last being in 2016, but came second on all the occasions and the players will be determined to win the tournament this time around.