Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli, and MS Dhoni picked by Wisden in their ODI team of the decade

Other big name included in the team of the decade was of Australia’s David Warner.

MS Dhoni, Rohit Sharma and Virat Kohli
MS Dhoni, Rohit Sharma and Virat Kohli. (Photo Source: Twitter)

The decade of 2010-2019 has come to an end with respect to one-day international cricket. This had led to many cricketing publications and other sources compiling the best teams of the decade. Teams went through changes during this period of 10 years as many of the legends of the game called time on their illustrious careers and this meant many other young stars established themselves as worthy successors.

The illustrious cricketing journal Wisden recently released their Test team of the decade which saw two Indians Virat Kohli and Ravichandran Ashwin making the cut in the XI, as the period draws to a close in just a week’s time. Now the publication has revealed the Wisden ODI team of the decade as well and in these eleven players, three of the Men in Blue members made the cut.


Three Indians in Wisden’s ODI XI of the decade

The three Indians included in the Wisden team of the decade are current captain Virat Kohli, former skipper MS Dhoni and explosive opener Rohit Sharma. Virat Kohli has been widely regarded as one of the best batsmen in all formats, but in the 50-over version, he has redefined batsmanship in general with over 11,000 runs in the decade. He also took the Indian team to the finals of the 2017 Champions Trophy and semis of the 2019 World Cup.

MS Dhoni continued to grow from strength to strength winning the 2013 ICC Champions Trophy and taking the team to the semi-finals of the 2015 World Cup, which were some of his achievements as captain of the team. He remained valuable as a guide to youngsters after giving up captaincy. Meanwhile, Rohit Sharma established himself as perhaps one of the greatest openers in ODIs, with two double tons in the decade along with 233 sixes to his name.

Other big names included in the team of the decade were Australia’s David Warner, who opens with Rohit, while Shakib Al Hasan was chosen as the all-rounder. Jos Buttler was also chosen for his exploits, while AB de Villiers also made the cut. Wisden also picked four fast bowlers in the team in Lasith Malinga, Trent Boult, Mitchell Starc and Dale Steyn.

Here is Wisden’s ODI Team of the Decade:

David Warner, Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli, AB de Villiers, Jos Buttler, MS Dhoni, Shakib-Al-Hasan, Lasith Malinga, Trent Boult, Mitchell Starc and Dale Steyn

Watch: Junior Dala’s perfect yorker in MSL 2019