RP Singh picks his all-time IPL XI, mysteriously leaves out Suresh Raina

RP Singh picks his all-time IPL XI, mysteriously leaves out Suresh Raina

Raina is amongst the leading run-scorers in the T20 tournament,

RP Singh
RP Singh. (Photo Source: Getty Images)

RP Singh, the former Indian cricketer, has put forth his best eleven in the Indian Premier League (IPL). The cricketing fraternity has been spending loads of time at home after the 21-day lockdown due to the massive coronavirus pandemic. Singh is pretty active on Twitter and he took some time out to form the eleven. Singh went for David Warner and Rohit Sharma as the openers.

Warner and Rohit are two of the leading run-scorers in the history of the tournament. In fact, the left-handed Warner has also won the Orange Cap quite a significant amount of times. At number three, Singh went for Virat Kohli, who scored four tons in the 2016 edition of the T20 tournament. Kohli has failed to deliver as the skipper though as the RCB are yet to win the championship.

At number four, Singh went for AB de Villiers, who has tormented bowling attacks ever since he first forayed into IPL cricket. The former South African batter has been playing alongside Kohli for quite a few years now. MS Dhoni is at number five in Singh’s lineup. Dhoni has won the Chennai Super Kings three titles. The Jharkhand-born has also shown his sheer class with the willow in hand.

No Raina in RP Singh’s lineup

Andre Russell pummelled bowling attacks with as many as 52 sixes in the 2019 IPL. Though KKR failed to make the playoffs, Dre-Russ bagged the limelight with his all-round abilities. Ravi Ashwin, one of the most economical bowlers in the IPL, found a way into the best eleven.

Amit Mishra, the leg-spinner, is Ashwin’s spin bowling partner in the lineup. Bhuvneshwar Kumar isn’t intimidating to the naked eye, but the fact that he is a genuine wicket-taker can’t be denied. Jasprit Bumrah and Lasith Malinga are the other fast bowlers.

Both play for the Mumbai Indians and have flourished. But the most notable omission was that of Suresh Raina, who’s among the top two run-scorer in the IPL history. Singh also picked Ravindra Jadeja, though as a 12th man.

Here is RP Singh’s IPL XI

David Warner, Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli, AB de Villiers, MS Dhoni, Andre Russell, Ravichandran Ashwin, Amit Mishra, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Jasprit Bumrah, Lasith Malinga, Ravindra Jadeja (12th man).