S. Sreesanth to be part of Kerala team in Syed Mushtaq Ali T20 Tournament 2021

S. Sreesanth to be part of Kerala team in Syed Mushtaq Ali T20 Tournament 2021

This will be S. Sreesanth's first domestic tournament after his seven-year ban.

S. Sreesanth
S. Sreesanth. (Photo Source: MANAN VATSYAYANA/AFP via Getty Images)

Former Indian pacer S Sreesanth is all set to ply his trade in the domestic circuit as he has been named in Kerala’s team for Syed Mushtaq Ali T20 trophy 2021. The high profile domestic tournament will commence from January 10, and Sreesanth’s presence in the tournament will mark an end to his seven-year-long ban on charges of match-fixing. He was banned by BCCI on allegations of the match-fixing in IPL.

He is all set to mark his comeback with this trophy as he features in the list of Kerala Cricket team which has been announced by the state cricket board. It would be Sreesanth’s first tournament after his long ban that ended in September l2020. Earlier, he got included in the local T20 event in Alappuzha this month. However, the inaugural session of KCA President’s Cup T20 didn’t get a nod from the Kerala government due to the risk of the COVID-19 pandemic.

An official from Kerala Cricket Association has declared that India star Sanju Samson will be leading the Kerala team for the upcoming edition of the Syed Mushtaq Ali Tournament. Sachin Baby will be his deputy in the same event for Kerala.

S. Sreesanth expressed his happiness after being back to the Kerala squad

Kerala Squad for SMAT 2021- Sanju Samson, Sachin Baby, S. Sreesanth, Basil Thampi, Jalaj Saxena, Robin Uthappa, Vishnu Vinod, Salman Nizar, Nidheesh M D, Asif KM, Akshay Chandran, Abhishek Mohan SL, Vinoop S Manoharan, Mohammed Azharuddeen M, Rohan S Kunnummal, and Midhun S.

The four new faces in the Kerala team will be- Vathsal Govind Sharma, Sreeroop M P, Midhun PK, and Rojith KG. Sreesanth expressed his happiness while being back to the team and shared a video where he was being handed over the cap.

The SMAT 2021 will commence from the 10th of January and will be staged across six different venues in India. Keeping in mind the COVID-19 pandemic, the entire league is set to be staged in bio-bubble. Various big names from Indian cricket have stepped up to be a part of the domestic event.