Samsung set to bag Mumbai Indians sponsorship rights

Samsung set to bag Mumbai Indians sponsorship rights

The Mumbai-based franchise is all set to get a new shirt sponsor.

Sachin Tendulkar talking with teammate Rohit Sharma
Sachin Tendulkar and Rohit Sharma. (Photo by Subhendu Ghosh/ Hindustan Times via Getty Images)

The Mumbai Indians have been one of the most successful teams in the Indian Premier League. They have won three titles under the leadership of Rohit Sharma, the most by any team. They will start the eleventh season as the defending champions having won the erstwhile edition of the prestigious tournament by beating Rising Pune Supergiants in the Final.

Videocon d2h has been the official sponsor for the Mumbai Indians for five years. However, going into the upcoming season, there might be a change in the sponsor for the Mukesh Ambani-owned franchise. As per reports in, the franchise is most likely to end its association with Videocon, a brand which was displayed on the Mumbai Indians jersey.

Meanwhile, they might sign Samsung as their official sponsor on a deal of INR 25-26 crores. As per sources, the Korean brand has shown eagerness on investing in cricket. “Samsung has shown unprecedented keenness to invest its marketing resources on cricket. The franchisees too are excited with over 50% gains for the property in comparison to last year,” the source mentioned

The sponsor journey for Mumbai Indians

Mumbai Indians had no jersey sponsors in the inaugural season of the Indian Premier League. Idea was the first brand which appeared on their jersey in 2009. Thereafter Videocon replaced the mobile brand for the 2010 season. Hero Honda replaced them afterward and was their official sponsor for the 2011 and 2012 seasons. Videocon d2h has been the sponsor ever since the 2013 season.

Apart from the Indian Premier League, Mumbai Indians have also bagged a couple of Champions League T20 title in 2011 and 2013. The team has retained their skipper as well as their major performers like Hardik Pandya, Krunal Pandya, Jasprit Bumrah and Kieron Pollard. They have been a force to reckon with and will look to start their title-defending campaign on an auspicious note.