Sarfaraz Ahmed goes past Shoaib Malik to become Pakistan's most successful captain in T20s

Sarfaraz Ahmed goes past Shoaib Malik to become Pakistan’s most successful captain in T20s

As this was Sarfaraz’s 86th win in T20s as captain, he overtook Shoaib Malik’s tally of 85 triumphs.

Sarfaraz Ahmed
Sarfaraz Ahmed. (Photo Source: Getty Images)

The last few years haven’t been memorable for Sarfaraz Ahmed as far as international cricket is concerned. In 2019, he was sacked as Pakistan captain from all three formats and even got dropped from the national team for a while. Although he did receive a call back, the wicketkeeper-batsman couldn’t find a regular place in the playing XI. Nevertheless, the veteran player continued to do well in domestic cricket and the Pakistan Super League (PSL).

On October 1 (Friday), the 34-year-old added a prestigious feather to his hat as he became the most successful Pakistan captain in the history of T20 cricket. The star cricketer got the milestone as Sindh defeated Northern by three wickets in the ongoing National T20 Cup 2021. As this was Sarfaraz’s 86th win in T20s as captain, he overtook Shoaib Malik’s tally of 85 triumphs.

Making his T20 debut way back in 2006, Sarfaraz has indeed come a long way. The dasher can play big shots at will and his ability to read the game makes him even more effective. From opener to finisher, the right-handed batter has played at several different positions and earned success.

Pakitan won 11 consecutive T20I series under Sarfaraz Ahmed’s leadership

Not to forget, he’s also a formidable wicketkeeper who can provide balance to any side. It must be noted that under Sarfaraz’s captaincy Pakistan managed 11 consecutive T20I series victories, which remains a world record till date.

Meanwhile, Sarafaraz’s tally of 140 matches as a captain in T20s is also the most by a Pakistan player. As mentioned over, the 34-year-old surpassed all-rounder Shoaib Malik to become the most successful Pakistan skipper in this format. While Misbah-ul-Haq holds the third position with 61 wins, Mohammad Hafeez (48) is sitting below. The top-five list is completed by Shahid Afridi (46).

Most wins in T20Is among Pakistan captain:

Captain Mat Wins Losses Ties Win %
Sarfaraz Ahmed 140 86 53 0 61.4
Shoaib Malik 133 85 44 2 63.9
Misbah-ul-Haq 99 61 36 2 61.6
Mohammad Hafeez 74 48 25 1 64.9
Shahid Afridi 87 46 40 1 52.9

Meanwhile, the Sarfaraz Ahmed-led Sindh have been impressive in the competition so far. With four wins in six games, Sindh are sitting pretty at the top and would be raring to clinch the title. The wicketkeeper has also been contributing significantly with the bat.