Shams Mulani to captain Mumbai on Oman tour

Shams Mulani to captain Mumbai on Oman tour

Mumbai cricket team will play six white-ball matches against Oman.

Shams Mulani
Shams Mulani. (Photo Source: Twitter)

Ranji Trophy giants Mumbai will play a limited-overs series against Oman starting in August. Shams Mulani has been announced as the captain for the same. Oman Cricket Association had last month put a proposal to Mumbai Cricket Association (MCA) for playing six white-ball games, ahead of their preparation for the T20 World Cup 2021 set to start from October 17.

Oman is one of the eight teams to battle it out in Qualifiers of the global event and hence they wanted some game time ahead of the T20 World Cup. After a lot of deliberation, the MCA has accepted the offer from Oman and have named the squad for the same. Rajasthan Royals duo Shivam Dube and Yashasvi Jaiswal are the prominent names who are part of the Mumbai squad.

The team will reach Oman on August 19 and will stay there till September 2. The Mumbai team will be coached by Amol Muzumdar, as reported by the Times of India.

Chance for Shivam Dube and Yashasvi Jaiswal to do well against Oman

Dube has fallen off the radar of India selectors, after the return of the all-rounder of Hardik Pandya to the team. Once considered a bright prospect, he made his India debut in the year 2019 as a seam-bowling all-rounder but could not cement his place in the team due to mixed performances.

He also didn’t have the best of the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2020 season for Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) and was released from the squad subsequently. He had a decent season with the bat for Rajasthan Royals (RR) in the first half of the IPL 2021 and would be eager to make a mark during the Oman series.

Meanwhile, Jaiswal was talked about the next big thing in Indian cricket owing to his brilliant performances in the Under-19 World Cup 2020. The southpaw could not set the stage on fire for the Royals and, the six white-ball matches against Oman could be useful in boosting the confidence of the youngster.

Squad: Shams Mulani (captain), Aakarshit Gomel, Hardi Tamore, Arman Jaffer, Chinmay Sutar, Shivam Dube, Aman Khan, Sujit Naik, Yashasvi Jaiswal, Shashank Attarde, Mohit Awasthi, Sairaj Patil, Deepak Shetty, Dhurmil Matkar