Shane Warne picks his greatest India XI; names Sourav Ganguly skipper

Shane Warne picks his greatest India XI; names Sourav Ganguly skipper

He picked Nayan Mongia as the wicket-keeper of his team.

Shane Warne (Photo by Ryan Pierse/Getty Images)

Coronavirus pandemic has forced everyone across the world to stay in their homes. Social distancing is being maintained all over in a bid to reduce the transmission of the Coronavirus. Current and former cricketers too are no exception to it and they have resorted to social media to interact with their fans or for an interview. Recently, former Australia cricketer Shane Warne went live on his official Instagram handle and picked his greatest India XI.

Interestingly, he named Sourav Ganguly as the captain of his team ahead of MS Dhoni and Virat Kohli. However, the 50-year-old clarified that he has only picked the players whom he has played against during his illustrious international career.

“I am only picking players that I played against and that’s why M S Dhoni and Virat Kohli are not going to be a part of the side. While Dhoni is probably the greatest wicketkeeper-batsman to have played the game, Kohli is one of the greatest batsmen across formats,” he said.

Sehwag and Sidhu make it to Shane Warne’s XI

Shane Warne has picked Virender Sehwag and Navjot Singh Sidhu at the top of the order for his team. Speaking about the latter’s inclusion, he lauded Sidhu for playing well against spin. “I had to pick Navjot Singh Sidhu because he was the best player against spin I have ever played against. All the other spinners I have played with, they have also told me that Sidhu was brilliant against them,” he added.

Apart from Ganguly, the middle-order comprised of the legendary players like Sachin Tendulkar and Mohammad Azharuddin while Nayan Mongia was picked as the wicketkeeper. Shane Warne’s India XI’s bowling attack comprised of Kapil Dev, one of the best all-rounders the country has ever produced, Javagal Srinath, and the spin twins Harbhajan Singh and Anil Kumble who together gave nightmares to Australia during their best years as well.

Here’s Shane Warne’s Greatest India XI: Sourav Ganguly (captain), Virender Sehwag, Navjot Singh Sidhu, Rahul Dravid, Sachin Tendulkar, Mohammad Azharuddin, Kapil Dev, Nayan Mongia (wicketkeeper), Harbhajan Singh, Javagal Srinath, Anil Kumble