Shikhar Dhawan asks out of the Indian squad for first three ODIs against Australia

Dhawan had earlier missed the last ODI and only T20I on the tour of Sri Lanka due to personal reasons.

Shikhar Dhawan
India’s Shikhar Dhawan. (Photo by JIM WATSON/AFP/Getty Images)

View : 5.8K

2 Min Read

Get every cricket updates! Follow us on

Indian opener Shikhar Dhawan after missing out on the last ODI and the only Twenty T20 International against Sri Lanka requested the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) to release him from the ODI team for the first three matches against Australia. Dhawan has been the first choice opener for Team India across formats since the Champions Trophy 2017 and played some remarkable knocks to give the team blazing starts.

The reason for his request was once again personal as his wife is not well and he wishes to be with her. Earlier Dhawan had flown back from Sri Lanka mid-way through the tour to be with his ailing mother in New Delhi. After his request was accepted by the BCCI, the senior selection committee decided that they will stick with the current team of 15 and haven’t announced a replacement for the left hander.

“Team India opener Mr Shikhar Dhawan has requested to be released from the team for the first three ODIs of the Paytm Australia tour of India, 2017 to attend to his wife, who is unwell. The All-India Senior Selection Committee has decided not to name any replacement for Mr Dhawan in Indian Cricket Team,” a BCCI media release stated.

The 15 man Indian team for first three ODIs against Australia:

Virat Kohli (Captain), Rohit Sharma (vice-captain), KL Rahul, Manish Pandey, Kedar Jadhav, Ajinkya Rahane, MS Dhoni (wk), Hardik Pandya, Axar Patel, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Jasprit Bumrah, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Umesh Yadav, Mohammed Shami.

Australia’s tour of India 2017 Schedule

1st ODI – India v Australia, September 17 (Sunday) | MA Chidambaram Stadium, Chennai | Starts 1:30 PM IST

2nd ODI – India v Australia, September 21 (Thursday) | Eden Gardens, Kolkata | Starts 1:30 PM IST

3rd ODI – India v Australia, September 24 (Sunday) | Holkar Cricket Stadium, Indore | Starts 1:30 PM IST

4th ODI – India v Australia, September 28 (Thursday) | M.Chinnaswamy Stadium, Bengaluru | Starts 1:30 PM IST

5th ODI – India v Australia, October 1 (Sunday) | Vidarbha Cricket Association Ground, Nagpur | Starts 1:30 PM IST