SLC to contest ICC charge on captain, coach and team manager
ICC will now have to appoint the judicial commissioner to hear the case.
Published - Jun 21, 2018 12:58 pm | Updated - Jun 21, 2018 12:58 pm
Dinesh Chandimal was found guilty of changing the condition of the ball in the controversial second Test match between Sri Lanka and Windies in St. Lucia. The ICC also charged a level three offence of him along with the coach Chandika Hathurusingha and the team manager Asanka Gurusinha for the conduct contrary to the spirit of the game. However, Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC) is set to contest those charges and a legal battle between the two bodies is on the cards now.
The visitors were charged for holding up the proceedings for two hours on the third day of the Test after they were made aware of the ball being changed. A penalty of five runs were also added to Windies’ total by the umpires which didn’t go down well with Sri Lankan team and they refused to take the field.
ICC to appoint judicial commissioner
The officials of SLC were in discussions with the team in the island nation which is currently in Barbados. According to Cricbuzz, the decision to contest the charge of ICC was made late on Wednesday night. If the sources are to be believed, the same will be informed to the ICC on Thursday morning. The governing body will have to appoint the judicial commissioner to hear the case.
This will also lead to the trio not being suspended for the third and final Test match. The level three offence which they have been charged with carries a penalty of a ban of two to four Test matches and if found guilty, they are likely to miss the most part of the home series against South Africa next month.
Reason for contesting the charge
Sri Lanka Cricket is believed to be contesting the charge on the grounds of inconsistency as they believe that the proper procedure was not followed. They are also arguing with the fact that the umpires were fine with the condition of the ball at stumps on day 2 and the charges were laid against Chandimal on the morning next day. According to them, the skipper should’ve been charged on the same day.
Even the match referee Javagal Srinath has also been accused of inconsistency. The visitors have claimed that he had assured them that the ball won’t be changed and the penalty runs also will not be awarded to the opposition after which they had agreed to take the field. But the on-field umpires did exactly the opposite which led to the team leaving the field once again.
Keep following CricTracker for more news and updates