ACC Emerging Teams Asia Cup 2023: India stars pay tribute to Virat Kohli's MCG heroics ahead of Pakistan clash

India-A will take on Pakistan-A in the ACC Emerging Teams Asia Cup at the R Premadasa International Cricket Stadium in Colombo on Wednesday, July 19.

View : 904

2 Min Read

Virat Kohli
Virat Kohli. (Photo Source: BCCI)

India A, led by Yash Dhull, will take on Pakistan A in the 2023 ACC Emerging Teams Asia Cup at the R Premadasa Stadium in Colombo on Wednesday, July 19. With two wins from two games, India A and Pakistan A are currently in first and second place in Group B, respectively.

Ahead of the encounter, some India A players expressed their admiration and amazement for star India batter Virat Kohli's magnificent innings against Pakistan in the 2022 T20 World Cup at the iconic Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG). The former India captain struck an unbeaten 82 from 53 deliveries and helped India to register a spectacular four-wicket win over the arch-rivals. Notably, the 34-year-old himself remarked that his match-winning knock against Pakistan was his finest in the T20I format.

Punjab batter Abhishek Sharma praised Kohli's magnificent effort, which helped India beat Pakistan in an intense T20 World Cup encounter. The 22-year-old underlined how the game appeared to be lost, but Kohli's dedication saved it, making an indelible mark on the young cricketers.

Riyan Parag recalled watching the match between India and Pakistan with his friends in a cafe, doubting Kohli's capacity to win, but afterwards being inspired by the star batter's tremendous focus and skill in his style.

Meanwhile, young batting sensation Sai Sudharsan opened up about how he was amazed by Kohli's superhuman effort that day. He pointed to a shot played by Kohli, remarking how it inspired him to believe that he, too, could achieve such excellence.

Watch the video:

India-A beat Nepal-A by nine wickets

Yash Dull and Co. are coming off a nine-wicket win over Nepal-A in their previous encounter in Colombo. Picking four wickets, Nishant Sindhu was crucial for India A as they bundled out Nepal A by 167 runs. Skipper Rohit Paudel top-scored for Nepal A, scoring 65 off 85 deliveries. Apart from Sindhu, Rajvardhan Hangargekar took three wickets, while Harshit Rana grabbed two. 

Abhishek Sharma (87 off 69) and Sudharshan (58* off 52) then provided an explosive start to India's chase, adding 139 in 19 overs for the first wicket. After Paudel struck and dismissed Abhishek, Dhruv Jurel came in and scored an unbeaten 21 as India chased down the target in the 23rd over.

Get every cricket updates! Follow Us:


Download Our App

For a better experience: Download the CricTracker app from the IOS and Google Play Store