BBL 2022-23: Brian Lara backs Adam Zampa over controversial run-out attempt at bowler's end
Zampa tried to run Tom Rogers out at the MCG.
View : 787
3 Min Read
Former West Indies skipper Brian Lara has backed Australia’s spinner Adam Zampa after the latter attempted a controversial run-out at the non-striker’s end in the game against Melbourne Renegades (Match 27). On the penultimate delivery of the Renegades’ innings, Stars skipper Zampa tried running Tom Rogers out, who was present at the non-striker’s end. The leg-spinner was not pleased with the cricketer backing up too far and hence whipped the bails off before releasing the ball.
The on-field umpire referred the decision to the third umpire and it was later ruled in favour of the non-striker. However, that couldn’t save Zampa from unwanted social media criticism and he was booed by the opponent fans as well. However, he found an ally in form of Lara, who encouraged him to do the same if he gets another opportunity.
“I say Adam, run him out, that’s what I think. It’s got to be stamped out of the game, these players have to understand that they’ve got to stay in their crease, and I don’t see any great advantage. Why are you going? That bat can still be in your crease and you can have the legs to get to the other end. I’m totally for stamping that side of the game out, let batsmen know they have to stay in their crease,” said Lara while talking to Fox Sports.
“In baseball the pitcher turns around and he looks at the guys who are on the different bases and they can’t move too quickly because if he catches them out, he turns around and he sends it to the catcher and they’re out. I don’t see anything wrong with it,” Lara added.
I honestly don’t think that I’ve ever stepped out of my crease: Lara
Citing an example from his personal life, Lara stated that he has never stepped out of the crease and that’s what the batters should follow. The former cricketer even went on to say that if crossing the crease is illegal for the bowler, then the same rules should apply to the batter as well.
“As a batter, I honestly don’t think that I’ve ever stepped out of my crease unless I see the ball travelling out of the bowler’s hand. And you just need to see a yard of the delivery coming out and then you can leave your crease.
“You’re telling the bowler that if he goes across the line by a centimetre, right, that’s illegal. But you’re allowed to go down the track three or four yards and take that advantage?” Lara added.
Here is a look at Zampa's attempt to run Rogers out
The non-striker can be run out if he/she is out of his/her ground up until the moment the bowler would normally have been expected to release the ball.— Marylebone Cricket Club (@MCCOfficial) January 3, 2023
That means when the arm gets to its highest point. (1/2)#MCCLaws | @BBLpic.twitter.com/fWtdJAtIh1
For Better Experience: Download CricTracker Mobile App
Download Our App