IND vs NZ, 1st T20I: Best memes from the game

It was Daryl Mitchell who helped New Zealand score 176 for the loss of six wickets.

Deepak Hooda
Deepak Hooda. (Photo Source: BCCI)
Divyaditya Singh
Divyaditya Singh

Staff Writer

View : 326

3 Min Read

Get every cricket updates! Follow us on

A great finishing touch from Daryl Mitchell's bat and a disciplined display from the bowling unit helped the Kiwis register their first win on their ongoing Indian tour, as they defeated the hosts by 21 runs in the first T20I on Friday, January 27.

Asked to bat first by the Indian skipper Hardik Pandya, New Zealand posted a total of 176 runs for the loss of six wickets. The Black Caps got a quickfire start from their openers Finn Allen and Devon Conway before Washington Sundar struck twice in the fifth over and dismissed both Allen and Mark Chapman.

Washington's spell included a stunning catch that he took off his own bowling to dismiss Chapman. 
Conway got out after scoring a fine half-century (52 off 35 balls) including seven fours and one six. But it was Daryl Mitchell whose quickfire knock took the hosts past 170, as he smashed Arshdeep Singh for 27 runs in the final over.

He remained unbeaten on 59 off 30 balls smashing three fours and five sixes. For the hosts, Sundar was the leading wicket-taker with two scalps, while Arshdeep, Kuldeep Yadav and Shivam Mavi shared one wicket each.

Chasing 177, the Men in Blue got some early shock as they lost the first three wickets for just 15 runs inside four overs. Then the no. 1 T20I batter in the ICC rankings Suryakumar Yadav came to the rescue while teaming up with skipper Hardik Pandya as they both put together a partnership of 68 runs for the fourth wicket.

After that, Washington Sundar gave some hope to the Indian fans with his valiant knock of 50 runs off 28 deliveries. But, as there was no helping hand from the other side, Sundar couldn’t take his team over the line and got out eventually.

Team India was restricted to 151/9 and lost the first contest of the series by 21 runs. For New Zealand, Mitchell Santner, Michael Bracewell, and Lockie Ferguson shared two wickets each, while Jacob Duffy and Ish Sodhi bagged one each. The second match will be played on January 29 in Lucknow.

Here are the best memes from the game:

For a better experience: Download the CricTracker app from the IOS App Store and Google Play Store