PCB likely to take action on Shahnawaz Dahani for criticizing journalists and selection committee following Asia Cup snub

Dahani failed to make the cut in either of the squads of the Afghanistan series and the Asia Cup 2023.

View : 2.2K

2 Min Read

Shahnawaz Dahani
Shahnawaz Dahani. (Photo Source: Twitter)

The Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) is likely to take action on pacer Shahnawaz Dahani after the latter launched a scathing attack on journalists and the selection committee. The PCB selection committee under the new chief selector, Inzamam-ul-Haq, announced the 17-man Asia Cup squad and the 18-member squads, respectively, for the ODIs against Afghanistan. However, Dahani failed to make the cut in either of the squads.

Moreover, Dahani was a regular in the setup until last year and has not played a single match for the national team in 2023. Meanwhile, former Pakistan wicketkeeper-batter Rashid Latif shared List A stats of country's fast bowlers, some of whom are participating in the Asia Cup. However, Dahani did not take the post shared by Rashid well and expressed his disappointment in a now-deleted tweet.

“Not even single journalist or cricket analyst even dared to ask questions or show these stats to selectors #Ripsportsjournalism,” Dahani wrote on his ‘X’ handle. 

Following Dahani’s comment, Rashid Latif was quick to respond, as he promptly apologized to the cricketer.

“My mistake Dahani I will make new,” Latif responded. 

Pakistan will play Afghanistan to prepare for Asia Cup

As per reports, the apex board will likely take action on the pacer for his remarks on journalists and the selection committee. Meanwhile, the pacer featured in the recently concluded Emerging Team’s Asia Cup 2023 but failed to get any wickets under his belt in the competition across three matches. 

Notably, the Men in Green will have three ODIs against Afghanistan, which is slated to begin on Tuesday, August 22. Following the conclusion of the ODI series, Pakistan will turn their attention towards the Asia Cup which will begin on August 30.

Pakistan ODI squad: Babar Azam (c), Shadab Khan, Mohammad Rizwan (wk), Fakhar Zaman, Abdullah Shafique, Imam-ul-Haq, Saud Shakeel, Salman Ali Agha, Iftikhar Ahmed, Mohammad Nawaz, Usama Mir, Haris Rauf, Naseem Shah, Shaheen Afridi, Tayyab Tahir, Mohammad Haris (wk), Faheem Ashraf, Mohammad Wasim

Get every cricket updates! Follow Us:


Download Our App

For a better experience: Download the CricTracker app from the IOS and Google Play Store