Ravindra Jadeja shares picture of India Test jersey, indicates return in Border-Gavaskar Trophy

Ravindra Jadeja last played for India in the Asia Cup before injuring his right knee.

Ravindra Jadeja
Ravindra Jadeja. (Photo Source: Twitter/imjadeja)
Chaitanya Prakash

Jr. Staff Writer

View : 769

2 Min Read

Get every cricket updates! Follow us on

While the Indian team indulged in a record-breaking victory against Sri Lanka in the third ODI in Thiruvananthapuram, star all-rounder Ravindra Jadeja has set his sights on the upcoming Border-Gavaskar trophy in February. Ravindra Jadeja shared a post via his social media account, indicating his return to the national side for the upcoming Australia series.

Ravindra Jadeja, who has been missing in action since injuring his right knee in a freak accident during the Asia Cup, will be featuring for Saurashtra in their last Ranji Trophy match later this month, according to Cricinfo. The mercurial all-rounder was a huge miss for the Indian team during their T20 World Cup campaign in Australia, which ended in heartbreak after an embarrassing defeat to eventual winners England in the semi final. 

The veteran all-rounder is currently undergoing rehabilitation at the National Cricket Academy in Bangalore after surgery on his right knee. Monitoring his progress, the selectors named him in the Indian squad for the opening two Test matches of the series against Australia. Jadeja shared a picture of his Test jersey, writing that he missed playing for the country but will be back very soon.

However, Jadeja's selcetion in the starting eleven for the upcoming Test series is subject to his fitness ahead of the series. He will undergo a fitness test and will only take part in the decisive series after the NCA certifies his fitness. He had a prolific run for the Indian side in 2022 and scored a magnificent century for his side against England in a losing cause, the last time he played a red ball game.

India's Test squad for the first two Tests against Australia: Rohit Sharma (Captain), KL Rahul (vice-captain), Shubman Gill, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, KS Bharat (wk), Ishan Kishan (wk), R. Ashwin, Axar Patel, Kuldeep Yadav, Ravindra Jadeja, Mohammad Shami, Mohammed Siraj, Umesh Yadav, Jaydev Unadkat and Suryakumar Yadav.