Suresh Raina joins India Legends for the second season of Road Safety World Series

Raina announced his retirement from the Indian Premier League on September 6, Tuesday.

Suresh Raina
Suresh Raina. (Photo Source: IPL/BCCI)

View : 2.8K

2 Min Read

Get every cricket updates! Follow us on

Former India all-rounder Suresh Raina, who announced his retirement from all formats of cricket on Tuesday, September 6, is all set to participate in the second season of the Road Safety World Series which is set to be played from September 10. The announcement came in after Raina announced his retirement from IPL, after going unsold at the cash-rich event last year.

The Road Safety World Series will kick-start with India Legends taking on the South African Legends at Kanpur. The tournament is a unique league, where retired cricketers from India, New Zealand, Australia, Sri Lanka, West Indies, South Africa, Bangladesh, and England compete for their respective teams.

Raina will be able to participate in overseas T20 leagues like the upcoming inaugural league of South Africa and the UAE, apart from the Road Safety league. Raina last played an IPL match in October 2021, and he has not participated in any domestic tournament since 2018. His participation in the Road Safety series was confirmed on the tournament’s official Twitter handle.

Eight teams set to participate in the tournament

A total of 23 matches will be played between September 10 to October 1, and the top two teams will make it to the grand finale which is scheduled for October 1, 2022, at Raipur. The tournament will be played across four venues- Kanpur, Indore, Dehradun, and Raipur, over a period of 22 days.

The T20 tournament has grown this year as a total of eight teams will be participating in the second edition. Due to the addition of eight teams in 2022, the T20 event has grown to be even bigger and better. Australia, who didn't take part in the second leg of the inaugural season, is returning to the competition while New Zealand Legends are set to make their debut.

India Legends will be led by Sachin Tendulkar, and will also witness the participation of former legendary players like Yuvraj Singh, Irfan Pathan, Yusuf Pathan, Munaf Patel, Stuart Binny, S Badrinath, and Harbhajan Singh to name a few, apart from Raina. India Legends would look to defend their title and lift the trophy for the second time this season.