Twitter Reactions: Brisbane Heat take a stroll in Sydney to second BBL title

Brisbane Heat defeated Sydney Sixers in the final of the ongoing BBL 2023-24.

View : 12.2K

3 Min Read

Brisbane Heat Winner.
Brisbane Heat Winner. (Photo Source: IZHAR KHAN/AFP via Getty Images)

The final of the Big Bash League 2023-24 was played between Sydney Sixers and Brisbane Heat at the Sydney Cricket Ground on January 24, 2024. Brisbane Heat scripted history and secured victory in a one-sided match, securing their second BBL title.

Sydney Sixers won the toss and opted to field first. Brisbane, batting first, set a challenging total of 166-8 in their 20 overs. Josh Brown's aggressive knock of 53, complemented by contributions from Nathan McSweeney, Matt Renshaw, and Max Bryant, provided a solid foundation. Sean Abbott starred with the ball for Sydney Sixers, claiming four wickets for 32 runs.

Chasing 167 for victory, Sydney Sixers faced a daunting task against Brisbane Heat's bowlers, particularly Spencer Johnson. Despite efforts from Jack Edwards, Josh Philippe, and Moises Henriques, the Sixers were bowled out for just 112 in 17.3 overs. Spencer Johnson's exceptional bowling performance, securing four crucial wickets for 26 runs, played a pivotal role in Brisbane Heat's triumph.

In the end, Brisbane Heat emerged as the BBL 2023-24 champions, winning the final by 54 runs. Their bowlers' collective effort, coupled with impactful performances from key players, secured their second title in an exciting conclusion to the season.

After the game, Player of the Match Spencer Johnson said that it was pretty special. He said that they wanted to make amends after last year. 

"We wanted to make amends after last year. Nice to contribute. Credit to the Sixers. They have been awesome. Credit to the bowlers and batters. Brisbane Heat has changed my life!" Spencer Johnson said as quoted by Cricbuzz.

Here is how Twitter reacted to the Heat's victory over the Sixers in the final

Get every cricket updates! Follow Us:


Download Our App

For a better experience: Download the CricTracker app from the IOS and Google Play Store