Virender Sehwag and Shoaib Akhtar's Arabic look for ILT20 2024 final goes viral

The entire commentary panel was dressed in Arabic attire ahead of the final.

View : 217

2 Min Read

Virender Sehwag & Shoaib Akhtar.
Virender Sehwag & Shoaib Akhtar. (Photo Source: Twitter)

After enthralling the fans in 33 matches, the final of the International League T20 2024 (ILT20 2024) between MI Emirates and Dubai Capitals finally got underway on Saturday, February 17 at Dubai International Cricket Stadium, Dubai. While fans waited in anticipation to see the two best teams of the competition collide against each other, they were left astonished to see some of the biggest names of the cricketing fraternity dressed in Arabic attire ahead of the final.

Former cricketers such as Shoaib Akhtar, Danny Morrison, Virender Sehwag, Nikhil Chopra, Saba Karim, Harbhajan Singh, Waqar Younis, Rohan Gavaskar and Simon Doull were seen donning Thawb ahead of the game as their look went viral on social media. The entire commentary panel even welcomed the fans in a unique fashion saying “Habibi! Come to Dubai International Cricket Stadium,” in the viral video.

Coming back to the match, MI Emirates emerged victorious of the second edition of the tournament as they beat Dubai Capitals by 45 runs in the summit clash. After being put in to bat first, MI posted a massive score of 208/3 in their allotted 20 overs riding on half-centuries from Andre Fletcher (53 off 37) and captain Nicholas Pooran (57* off 27). Earlier, Mumbai got off to a sensational start as openers Muhammad Waseem (43 off 24) and Kusal Perera (38 off 26) got involved in a massive 77-run stand off 40 balls.

Trent Boult and Vijayakanth Viyaskanth picked two wickets each for MI Emirates

Zahir Khan was the pick of the bowlers for Dubai Capitals with figures of 1/21 in four overs. After failing with the ball, Dubai also couldn’t do much with the bat as they could only score 163/7 in their allotted 20 overs. Captain Sam Billings was the top scorer for the side with his knock of 40 (29) while Tom Banton scored 35 (20).  For Emirates, Trent Boult (2/30) and Vijayakanth Viyaskanth (2/24) picked two wickets each.

Get every cricket updates! Follow Us:


Download Our App

For a better experience: Download the CricTracker app from the IOS and Google Play Store