South Africa announce limited over squads for New Zealand series

South Africa announce limited over squads for New Zealand series

Dale Steyn
Dale Steyn will make a comeback to the limited overs squad after opting out of the Bangladesh series. (© Getty Images)

South Africa announce limited over squads for New Zealand series: Wicket keeper-batsman Morne van Wyk has been recalled to South Africa’s squad for the three-match Twenty20 international series against the West Indies in place of the injured Quinton de Kock. Senior players Hashim Amla, AB de Villiers, Dale Steyn and Morne Morkel have been rested, but Faf du Plessis will resume the captaincy. Proteas will play two T20Is and 3 ODIs during the short series.

Dale Steyn and Vernon Philander also return to ODI duty after missing the series in Bangladesh. Imran Tahir will play the ODI Series against New Zealand but not the T20Is where a further opportunity is being given to Eddie Leie who had an outstanding debut against Bangladesh. JP Duminy and Morne Morkel will miss the ODIs because they are going on paternity leave, but they will be available for the T20Is.

The new selection convener, Linda Zondi after the announcing the squads said: “We have maintained our policy of consistency in selection which has paid dividends in the past, at the same time our national squads will never be a closed shop and we will always reward players who show the right level of form. David Wiese has been knocking on the door of the ODI squad for some time and this series provides another opportunity to see what he can offer as an all-rounder. Morne van Wyk adds experience to our squads and he will also strengthen our leadership core, having been a successful franchise captain for many years now. Quinton de Kock remains an outstanding talent but we feel that the South Africa A tour of India presents the best opportunity at this stage of his career for him to rediscover his form.”

South Africa ODI squad v New Zealand:

AB de Villiers (capt), Kyle Abbott, Hashim Amla, Farhaan Behardien, Faf du Plessis, Imran Tahir, David Miller, Aaron Phangiso, Vernon Philander, Kagiso Rabada, Rilee Rossouw, Dale Steyn, Morne van Wyk, David Wiese

South Africa T20I squad v New Zealand:

Faf du Plessis, Kyle Abbott, Hashim Amla, Farhaan Behardien, AB de Villiers, JP Duminy, Eddie Leie, David Miller, Morne Morkel, Aaron Phangiso, Kagiso Rabada, Rilee Rossouw, Morne van Wyk, David Wiese

New Zealand Tour Itinerary:

14 August 2015: 1st T20 International (D/N), Sahara Stadium Kingsmead, Durban.

16 August 2015: 2nd T20 International (Day), SuperSport Park, Centurion.

19 August 2015: 1st ODI (D/N), SuperSport Park, Centurion.

23 August 2015: 2nd ODI (Day), Senwes Park, Potchefstroom.

26 August 2015: 3rd ODI (D/N), Sahara Stadium Kingsmead, Durban.