South Africa vs India: 5 possible combinations for Team India in the 2nd Test

The Indian team would want to change the combination to get back to winning ways and here are the possible options.

Wriddhiman Saha
Wriddhiman Saha. (Photo Source: Twitter)

After Team India’s 72-run loss in the first match of the ongoing 3-match Test series against South Africa, there have been a lot of talks about the team’s possible playing XI going into the second match which is scheduled to be played at the SuperSport Park, Centurion.

They went in with five batsmen, Wriddhiman Saha, Hardik Pandya as the all-rounder, off-spinner Ravi Ashwin and three pacers. Taking the conditions and the technique and the recent form of the players into account, we have looked at 5 possible combinations that the Indian think-tank may decide to go with:

1. Combination 1 (Same XI as the first Test)

Indian team
Virat Kohli of India reacts after the catch. (Photo by Ashley Vlotman/Gallo Images/Getty Images)

Playing a Test match overseas is not easy, not at all when you walk into it without having played a single practice game. The Indian batsmen were always going to struggle to adapt to the South African conditions because of their lack of preparation and to make matters worse, the Newlands curators dished out a mouth-watering surface for Vernon Philander & Co. where the ball hooped around corners and barring AB de Villiers and Hardik Pandya, no batsman could get on top of the bowling at any stage of the game.

There may be a school of thought that chopping and changing after just one game will be unfair on the players and probably everyone deserves one more go before their place in the team are reconsidered, but the problem is that it’s only a 3-match Test series and after losing at Newlands, India are in a must-win situation now. So it’s tough for the think tank not to deliberate the changes and just let the same combination have another crack at South Africa.

Possible XI: Shikhar Dhawan, Murali Vijay, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli (C), Rohit Sharma, Hardik Pandya, Ravichandran Ashwin,  Wriddhiman Saha (wk), Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Mohammed Shami, Jasprit Bumrah

Page 1 / 5