South Africa vs Pakistan: Hosts make three changes to the squad for the last three ODIs

South Africa vs Pakistan: Hosts make three changes to the squad for the last three ODIs

The series is currently locked at 1-1.

South African team
South African team. (Photo by Richard Huggard/Gallo Images/Getty Images)

The series between South Africa and Pakistan after two One-Day Internationals is level at 1-1. While Pakistan won the first ODI by five wickets, the hosts made a comeback at the Kingsmead. The Proteas won the 2nd ODI by a similar margin. For the remaining three matches, they has made three changes in their squad.

Quinton de Kock and Dale Steyn have made a comeback to the squad for the remainder of the series after being rested for the first two games. Another change that has been made in the squad is the inclusion of Highveld Lions left-arm pacer, Beuran Hendricks.

Hendricks has not represented the Proteas in the 50 overs format but has previously represented them in the T20 International matches. The three players that have been dropped from the squad are Duanne Olivier, Dane Paterson and Henrich Klassen.

CSA National Selection Panel (NSP) convener Linda Zondi wants to explore all options that are available. The inclusion of Hendricks will offer a variety to the attack according to him and also conceded that they wanted to rest Olivier ahead of Sri Lanka series.

Happy with the depth

“We are very happy with the depth of our fast bowling resources. Particularly if you consider that Lungi Ngidi is still on the road back from injury and we also want to have a look at AnrichNortje when he is fully recovered. At the same time, we want to explore all the options that are available to us and Beuran will be able to offer variety to our attack.

“We are well aware of what Duanne, Dane and Heinrich have to offer and in the case of Duanne we are mindful of the amount of bowling he has done at the top level over the past month and we want to give him a break ahead of the Test Series against Sri Lanka. For the same reason we will be looking to rest KagisoRabada for the entire T20 International Series.” Linda Zondi said.

South Africa squad for last three ODIs: Faf du Plessis (c), Hashim Amla, Quinton de Kock (wk), Beuran Hendricks, Reeza Hendricks, Imran Tahir, Aiden Markram, David Miller, Andile Phehlukwayo, Dwaine Pretorius, Kagiso Rabada, Tabraiz Shamsi, Dale Steyn, Rassie van der Dussen.

Get the latest Cricket News and updates, Match PredictionsFantasy Cricket Tips and lots more on

~ Written by Nikhil Gupta