Sri Lanka announce 15-man squad for the T20I series against West Indies

Sri Lanka announce 15-man squad for the T20I series against West Indies

The T20I series is set to commence on March 4.

Sri Lanka
Sri Lanka. (Photo by Bradley Kanaris/Getty Images)

Sri Lanka squad for the upcoming T20I series against the West Indies has been announced. The two sides are currently locking horns in a three-match One-Day International series where the home side has already take an unassailable 2-0 lead thanks to twin hundreds from Avishka Fernando [127] and Kusal Mendis [119] and three-wicket-hauls by the leg-spin duo of Wanindu Hasaranga and Lakshan Sandakan in the second ODI in Hambantota.

Post the culmination of the third ODI in Pallekele, both sides will turn their attention towards preparing for the upcoming ICC T20 World Cup when they l0ck horns in a couple of Twenty20 Internationals on March 04 and 06. With the Lankans doing relatively well in the One-day series, the national selectors have decided to stick with the same set-up barring the obvious swap of Dimuth Karunaratne with T20I skipper Lasith Malinga.

Sri Lanka will look to emulate their ODI performance in the T20I series

The decision of sticking to the same set of players who won the first two ODIs means that the talented players in Bhanuka Rajapaksa, Oshada Fernando, Danushka Gunathilaka have been dropped while Kasun Rajitha makes way for Nuwan Pradeep, who was ruled out due to injury from the last T20I that Sri Lanka played [against India]. All-rounder Shehan Jayasuriya has also earned a recall in the T20I squad.

Rajapaksa played just one game in the series against India where he managed nine runs while Oshada Fernando too could muster 12 runs across 2 innings in what was a forgettable series for the islanders. Lasith Malinga will be under tremendous pressure as he faces the uphill task of bringing the T20I side back on the winning track.

Since the start of 2019, the Lankans have managed just four wins- three of which came under Dasun Shanaka in the absence of Malinga against Pakistan- and the only victory that has come under the leadership of the champion fast bowler was when he claimed four wickets in as many balls against New Zealand.

Sri Lanka squad for the two-match T20I series:

Lasith Malinga (C), Avishka Fernando, Kusal Janith Perera, Shehan Jayasuriya, Niroshan Dickwella, Kusal Mendis, Angelo Mathews, Dhananjaya De Silva, Thisara Perera, Dasun Shanaka, Wanindu Hasaranga, Lakshan Sandakan, Isuru Udana, Nuwan Pradeep, Lahiru Kumara