Sri Lanka announce squad for the Pakistan Test series

The selectors named uncapped players Sadeera Samarawickrama and Roshen Silva in the squad.

Dinesh Chandimal News
Sri Lankan cricket captain Dinesh Chandimal. (Photo by ISHARA S. KODIKARA/AFP/Getty Images)

Sri Lanka announced their 15-man squad for the upcoming 2-match Test series in the UAE against Pakistan starting September 28. The selectors named uncapped players Sadeera Samarawickrama and Roshen Silva in the squad who have had good returns in the domestic circuit recently. It also marks the return of opener Kaushal Silva, who wasn’t a part of the home Test series against Bangladesh, Zimbabwe, and India.

Former captain, Angelo Mathews wasn’t included as the Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC) confirmed that he was ruled out of the 1st Test due to a calf strain which he picked up during a practice session. However, his availability for the 2nd Test is yet to be known. Lahiru Thirimanne, returned to the national team after a one-year gap, has been named as the vice-captain to Dinesh Chandimal. Thirimanne featured in the ODI series against India where he impressed a great deal and was a part of the squad for the 3rd Test against the No.1 team.


22-year-old Samarawickrama who received his maiden call-up as the keeper-batsman has done extremely well in the first-class domestic cricket. Sadeera has played 27 FC games in his short career scoring 2070 runs at an average of 47.04 and a very high strike rate of 81.20 in this longer format of the game.

Another uncapped batsman Roshen Silva got a chance in the Test squad who played 101 first-class games for 6265 runs. The 28-year-old was also named in the home series against Australia last year but didn’t get a chance to make his debut.

Malinda Pushpakumara didn’t find a place in the squad after suffering in the Indian series. Nuwan Pradeep and Rangana Hearth, who missed out the last Test against India due to injuries returned to the team as well. The selectors also named five standby players which includes the mystery off-spinner, Akila Dananjaya.

Sri Lanka squad:

Dinesh Chandimal (Captain), Lahiru Thirimanna (VC), Dimuth Karunaratne, Kaushal Silva, Kusal Mendis, Sadheera Samarawickrema, Roshen Silva, Niroshan Dickwella, Rangana Herath, Lakshan Sandakan, Dilruwan Perera, Suranga Lakmal, Nuwan Pradeep, Vishva Fernando, Lahiru Gamage.

Standby: Dhananjaya De Silva, Jeffery Vandersay, Akila Dananjaya, Lahiru Kumara, Dasun Shanaka.