Sri Lanka appoint Kusal Perera as captain for Bangaldesh ODIs; Karunaratne, Matthews, Chandimal dropped

Sri Lanka appoint Kusal Perera as captain for Bangaldesh ODIs; Karunaratne, Matthews, Chandimal dropped

Dimuth Karanuratne was sacked from ODI captaincy and subsequently dropped from the squad along with some more senior players.

Kusal Perera
Kusal Perera plays a shot. (Photo Source: Getty Images)

Sri Lanka cricket is all set for a fresh beginning in the ODI format with a new captain and vice-captain in charge of the team. The Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC) announced an 18-member squad that will tour Bangladesh for the three ODIs in Dhaka. Kusal Perera, the wicketkeeper-batsman, who was dropped from the team just a few months prior, has been named the new captain, replacing Dimuth Karunaratne. 

After losing the three-match ODI series in the West Indies, captain Dimuth Karunaratne’s place in the ODI team was questioned. Similarly, there were questions raised on the place of the senior members of the squad, including Angelo Mathews, Dinesh Chandimal, and Lahiru Thirimanne. It can be speculated that Thisara Perera’s retirement from international cricket at the age of 32, has something to do with this. 

Having said that, all these senior players have not found a place in the squad which will tour Bangladesh. This development was reported just a few days back when there were reports of Karunaratne getting sacked from his ODI role.

He was entrusted with the ODI captaincy right before the ICC Cricket World Cup 2019, after some success in Test cricket as a skipper. His sacking comes right after he had a record-breaking series as a batsman in the Test series against Bangladesh at home. 

No place for seniors as Sri Lanka selectors turn to youngsters

In other appointments, Kusal Mendis, the 26-year-old middle-order batsman has been named the vice-captain of the side. Both the appointment of the captain and vice-captain comes, keeping in mind the 2023 Cricket World Cup. There has been no announcement around the T20I captaincy, and Dasun Shanka is likely to continue in that role.

Apart from this, there are some new faces like Chamika Karunaratne, Shiran Fernando, Asitha Fernando, and Binura Fernando. On the other hand, Ashen Bandara, Danushka Gunathilaka, and Wanindu Hasaranga, who performed well during the Caribbean tour have retained their place in the side.

Ramesh Mendis and Lakshan Sandakan have also been added to the team to boost their spin attack. All three matches will be played at the Shere Bangla National Cricket Stadium in Dhaka, on May 23, 25, and 28. 

Sri Lanka’s 18-member ODI squad vs Bangladesh: Kusal Perera (C), Kusal Mendis (VC), Danushka Gunathilaka, Pathum Nissanka, Dhananjaya de Silva, Ashen Bandara, Niroshan Dickwella, Dasun Shanka, Isuru Udana, Dushmantha Chameera, Ramesh Mendis, Lakshan Sandakan, Akila Dhananjaya, Wanindu Hasaranga, Chamika Karunaratne, Asitha Fernando, Binura Fernando, Shiran Fernando.

Indian cricketers who turned their fortunes with playing cricket