Sri Lanka declare 15 members squad for the ICC Cricket World Cup 2015

Sri Lanka declare 15 members squad for the ICC Cricket World Cup 2015

Sri Lanka declare 15 members squad for the ICC Cricket World Cup 2015: The Sri Lankan Cricket selectors have picked the 15 most efficient players from the 30 that they had previously announced to represent the Island country in the ICC cricket world cup 2015 in Australia and New Zealand.

Sri Lankan cricket team will be led by the all-rounder Angelo Mathews, who along with Kumar Sangakkara was the best player for the team in 2014. While Lahiru Thirimanne has been elected as his lieutenant in the squad.

There was a question mark over the selection of Lasith Malinga, and the selectors have maintained that though he has been picked in the 15; he will be a part of the squad if he acquires the requisite level of fitness before the ICC mega event in Australia and New Zealand.

Sri Lanka will feel this has to be their World Cup on the previous two occasions they have been there yet failed to lift the trophy loosing out on the final battle. First to Australia in 2007 and then against India in 2011.

The form of Dilshan up the order will be the key for Sri Lanka as the two most valuable international cricketers today, with tons of experience Kumar Sangakkara and Mahela Jayawardene the team relies 60% on these two guys to take care of the scoring as they have effortlessly done over the years.

Responsibility of the bowling will rely on Dhamika Prasad, Nuwan Kulasekara, Rangana Herath, Sachitra Senanayake, Suranga Lakaml and Lasith Malinga if he obtains fitness before the world cup.

There are three all-rounders in the squad in form of Angelo Mathews, Jeevan Mendis and Thisara Perera. These three will be crucial for Sri Lanka’s success as the conditions in Australia and New Zealand will require the sub-continent giants to perform at their best. The two medium pace all-rounders that they have will give them an edge and add balance to their squad.

The Sri Lanka 15 member Squad for the ICC cricket world cup 2015:

Angelo Mathews (capt), Tillakaratne Dilshan, Kumar Sangakkara, Mahela Jayawardene, Lahiru Thirimanne (vice-capt), Dinesh Chandimal, Dimuth Karunaratne, Jeevan Mendis, Thisara Perera, Suranga Lakmal, Lasith Malinga (subject to fitness), Dhammika Prasad, Nuwan Kulasekara, Rangana Herath and Sachithra Senanayake.