Sri Lanka name 15-member squad for Commonwealth Games 2022

Women's cricket at CWG 2022 will kick start of July 29.

View : 2.1K

2 Min Read

Chamari Athapaththu
Chamari Athapaththu of Sri Lanka. (Photo by Harry Trump-IDI/IDI via Getty Images)

Sri Lanka have announced their squad for the upcoming Birmingham Commonwealth Games, and the contingent has been reduced from what was named against India for the recently concluded T20I series. Sri Lanka Women had deployed a 19-member squad for the India series, but Sathya Sandeepani, Kaushani Nuthyangana, Hansima Karunaratne, and Tharika Sewwandi have been left out of the CWG 2022 as the group now consists of 15 players.

Although Sri Lanka’s run against India did not go as they had hoped, their decisive victory in the third T20I of the series gave them optimism that they could succeed on the global platform. Yet again, Chamari Athapaththu will lead the team. Additionally, Sri Lanka will be hoping that promising all-rounder Kavisha Dilhari puts on a noteworthy showing.

Some of the other important players on the team are Inoka Ranaweera and Oshadi Ranasinghe, who had been in good touch against India. The two spinners have produced match-winning spells previously, and something similar will be expected from them. While Athapaththu will continue her place as an opener, Vishmi Gunarathne is expected to open the innings alongside her.

There have been instances where the Sri Lankan lineup has depended upon their top order, especially Athapaththu. The skipper has played some memorable knocks in the top-order and guided her side to a victory single-handedly. In the third T20I match against India, Athapaththu remained unbeaten at 80*(48) and punished the bowlers after the other two top-order batters failed to put up a show.

Commonwealth Games include 16 matches across 10 days

This is the first time that women’s cricket has been included in the Commonwealth Games, and all eight teams will give their best performances to clinch the Gold medal. All teams will face the other three teams in their respective groups once. Therefore, all side will play three matches each before the semi-finalists are declared.

16 games, including the finals, will be played over the course of 10 days and Sri Lanka will be a part of Group B alongside hosts England, New Zealand, and South Africa. Meanwhile, Group A consists of World Champions Australia, India, Pakistan, and Barbados.

Sri Lanka Women’s Commonwealth Games squad

Chamari Athapaththu (c), Hasini Perera, Harshitha Samarawickrama, Vishmi Gunaratne, Malsha Shehani, Nilakshi de Silva, Kavisha Dilhari, Ama Kanchana, Achini Kulasuriya, Inoka Ranaweera, Udeshika Prabodhani, Sugandika Kumari, Rashmi de Silva, Oshadi Ranasinghe, Anushka Sanjeewani

Get every cricket updates! Follow Us:


Download Our App

For a better experience: Download the CricTracker app from the IOS and Google Play Store