Sri Lanka set to tour India for three T20 Internationals in January 2020

The series against Zimbabwe has been cancelled after ICC suspended them.

Sri Lanka
Sri Lanka. (Photo by Buddhika Weerasinghe/Getty Images)

View : 11.9K

2 Min Read

Get every cricket updates! Follow us on

Sri Lanka will tour India for a three-match T20 International series in January next year. The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) has released the schedule of the series as the two teams will face-off after a long time in a bilateral series. Interestingly, according to the FTP, India were scheduled to host Zimbabwe during the same period but the tour seems to have cancelled now with the latter’s ICC suspension.

The three T20Is will be played on January 5, 7 and 9 according to BCCI’s official website. The board also confirmed that they invited Sri Lanka to play a series after Zimbabwe was suspended and the island nation obliged to visit the country. Guwahati, Indore and Pune will respectively host the T20Is as the Virat Kohli-led side will continue to prepare for the T20 World Cup in Australia.

Packed schedule for Team India

The season, as usual, is packed for Team India and there is little room to breathe. They are currently hosting South Africa after which Bangladesh and West Indies are due to tour India in November and December respectively. In January, after playing against Australia, the Men in Blue will play three ODIs against Australia and then travel to New Zealand for a full tour.

India will face the Kiwis in their own backyard in 5 T20Is, 3 ODIs and 2 Test matches in a tour which lasts for almost 40-42 days. South Africa then will once again tour India to play three One-Day Internationals in March 2020 before the much-awaited Indian Premier League (IPL) commences in April. The IPL will hold a lot of importance this time with the World Cup in sight in October.

At the moment, India are gearing up for the three-match Test series against South Africa which is set to get underway on October 2.

Here’s the schedule:

Day Date Match Venue
Sunday 5-Jan 1st T20 Guwahati
Tuesday 7-Jan 2nd T20 Indore
Friday 10-Jan 3rd T20 Pune

Watch – All-time right-handers ODI XI