Stats: Top 10 highest run-scorers in T20Is

Three Pakistan players in top 10.

Babar Azam
Babar Azam. (Photo by AAMIR QURESHI/AFP via Getty Images)
Pawan Ashok Sharma

Jr. Statistician

View : 4.9K

3 Min Read

Get every cricket updates! Follow us on

Pakistan captain Babar Azam became the highest run-getter for his team in T20Is as he overtook Mohammad Hafeez’s tally of 2514 runs. Since making his debut in 2016, there has been no looking behind for the 27-year-old as the star batter, who is in the form of his life, recorded yet another feat in his already illustrious career. Although he scored just one run in the second T20I against Bangladesh, it was enough for him to surpass Professor Mohammad Hafeez.

Overall, Azam stands seventh on the list of the highest run-scorer in T20Is. Fresh from scoring the most runs (303) in the recently concluded T20 World Cup 2021, Babar Azam has been going from strength to strength in the shortest international format. In 2021, he is only behind his teammate Mohammad Rizwan for scoring the most runs in T20Is. While many doubted his ability to shine in the T20I format initially, he worked on his game and proved his critics wrong. He has shown that T20 is not always about power-hitting just like the Kiwis talisman Kane Williamson.

Martin Guptill is the highest run-scorer in T20Is 

Speaking of the highest run-scorer in T20Is, Martin Guptill tops the list for scoring most runs (3299) overall in the T20Is. Guptill has been a vital cog for New Zealand in the limited-overs setup ever since the retirement of another dashing opener Nathan Astle. Martin is also first on the list for hitting most maximums (165) in T20Is.

Second and third in the list is India’s mainstay batters Virat Kohli (3227) and Rohit Sharma (3197). Of the top 10 batters Virat Kohli boasts the best average (52.04), while Rohit Sharma has hit the second most number of sixes (150 behind Martin Guptill in T20Is. Aaron Finch, the aussie captain finds himself fourth in the list (2608) while Irish opener Paul Stirling occupying the fifth spot with 2570 runs.

Australian southpaw opener David Warner, who won the Player of the tournament award and achieved second most runs (289) in the recently-concluded, T20 World Cup 2021 is sixth in the list with 2554 runs in the format. As mentioned earlier, Pakistan’s champion batter Babar Azam holds the seventh place. He is followed by his countryman Mohammad Hafeez on eighth.

The penultimate name in the list is occupied by veteran Pakistan batter Shoaib Malik who has recorded 2435 runs in his T20I career. The list ends with England’s 50-over World Cup-winning skipper and one of their hardest hitters Eoin Morgan who has accumulated 2428 runs in the format. These 10 batters have been an integral part of their respective teams in T20 format over the years and they would like to continue to do the same until they hang up their boots.

Top 10 highest run-scorers in T20 Internationals: 

S.NO. Players Matches Runs Average Strike Rate Highest Score 100/50
1 Martin Guptill 112 3299 32.66 136.71 105 2/20
2 Virat Kohli 95 3227 52.04 137.9 94* 0/29
3 Rohit Sharma 119 3197 33.3 140.28 118 4/26
4 Aaron Finch 83 2608 35.72 148.01 172 2/15
5 Paul Stirling 92 2570 30.96 136.05 115* 1/19
6 David Warner 88 2554 32.74 140.48 100* 1/21
7 Babar Azam 70 2515 46.57 129.5 122 1/24
8 Mohammad Hafeez 119 2514 26.46 122.03 99* 0/14
9 Shoaib Malik 124 2435 31.21 125.64 75 0/9
10 Eoin Morgan 113 2428 28.9 137.64 91 0/14