WPL Auction 2023

The all-exciting Women’s Premier League (WPL) was formally announced by the BCCI secretary Jay Shah and BCCI President Roger Binny on January 25 which went down as one of the most historic dates in women’s cricket. Undoubtedly, the introduction of the extravagant event will take the cricketing globe by storm and alter women's cricket for better.

The IPL team owners Mumbai Indians, Royal Challengers Bangalore and Delhi Capitals made successful bids of INR 912.99 crore, INR 901 crore and INR 810 crore respectively to obtain teams in the league. Adani Sportsline shelled out a massive INR 1289 crore for the Ahmedabad team while Capri Global Holdings got the Lucknow franchise for INR 757 crore. The WPL 2023 auction is likely to be held in the second week of February and all eyes will be on the bidding arena to see which teams acquire the top players around the world.

INR 12 crore will be the auction purse for the inaugural season wherein each team can buy a minimum of 15 and a maximum of 18 players, including seven overseas players and one player from associate nations. The first edition is likely to be played between March 5 and March 23 after the conclusion of the ICC Women’s T20 World Cup.

Latest Articles