Timings of IPL 2019 playoffs and Women’s T20 Challenge confirmed

Timings of IPL 2019 playoffs and Women’s T20 Challenge confirmed

The Sawai Mansingh Stadium in Jaipur will host all the Women's games.

Women's IPL
Women’s IPL. (Photo Source: Twitter)

The 12th edition of the Indian Premier League (IPL) has been on a roll. We’ve witnessed some really exciting and close finishes and the race for the playoffs has heated up. All teams are trying to find a way to book a place in the top four. The schedule for this season was announced in parts and it was only last week that the venue and dates for the playoffs were finalized. Hyderabad will host the final after Chennai failed to get permission to accommodate fans in the three closed stands.

The BCCI on Monday (April 29th) announced that the playoffs and the final will be played half an earlier than the scheduled time. All the group stage games start at 8 PM IST. However, the four games including the final will start at 7:30 PM IST. Even last year, the time for the playoffs and the final was revised to 7 PM IST.

There are a couple of reasons for the revision in timings. One is that the matches are running quite late and most games end past midnight. Another reason is the effect of incessant dew. Hence, the timings have been revised and the games will start half an hour earlier than the norm. Chennai is scheduled to host Qualifier 1 while Visakhapatnam will become the 9th venue this season as it will host the Eliminator and Qualifier 2. The final will be hosted by Hyderabad.

Women’s T20 Challenge will also start at 7:30 PM IST barring one game

The Women’s T20 extravaganza was played last year as well. However, there were only two teams and only one game was played. This year, the BCCI has decided to extend it to three teams, making it a triangular tournament. Supernovas, Trailblazers and Velocity are the three teams and each of them has a couple of big Indian stars alongside a few overseas stars.

These games (four in number) will be played on May 6th, 8th and 9th with the final on the 11th. Barring the game on 8th, all these games are also scheduled to start at 7:30 PM IST. The game on 8th between the Trailblazers and Velocity will start at 3:30 PM IST as the date coincides with the IPL Eliminator. The Sawai Mansingh Stadium in Jaipur will host all these games.

[interaction id=”5cc2f633bb6fb0930d179460″]

Get the latest Cricket News and updates from the Indian Premier LeagueMatch PredictionsFantasy Cricket Tips and lots more on CricTracker.com.