TNPL 2018: Vivek and Mohammed power Dindigul Dragons to an emphatic win over Tuti Patriots

M Mohammed and M Abhinav spectacularly secured the win for Dindigul Dragons.

Dindigul Dragons
Dindigul Dragons. (Photo Source: TNPL)

Dindigul Dragons stormed to their fourth consecutive win in the 2018 Sankar Cement-TNPL as they overcame Jones Tuti Patriots by four wickets at the NPR College ground in Natham (Dindigul) on Tuesday, July 24.

Chasing 178 runs for a win, R Vivek, batting at No 4, smashed 62 from 32 balls. By the time he was out, Dragons needed only 49 runs from 40 balls.


Jones Tuti Patriots spinners did manage a few quiet overs and it was anyone’s game. Dragons needed 31 runs from the last three overs. M Mohammed not out 36 (24b,3×4,1×6) and M Abhinav not out 15(8b,1×4,1×6) then spectacularly secured the win for Dindigul Dragons.

Batting first, Tuti Patriots were once again jolted early as their opener & captain Kaushik Gandhi (6) was dismissed in the third over with the team score reading 13. Dindigul Dragons kept chipping away at the wickets to reduce Patriots to 72/5 in the first 11 overs.

The experienced duo of Sathish and Rangarajan then assumed the mantle of run-scoring and attacked the loose balls bowled by the Dragons. The pair eventually put on 101 from 52 balls for the sixth wicket. Sathish 74 (41b, 7×4,4×6) was extremely brutal at the end as he scored his last 29 runs in just six balls.

Rangarajan 37 (24b,3×4,2×6) played the supporting knock and was instrumental in taking the final score to 177/8. Dragons leg-spinner Mohan Abhinav was impressive in his spell of 2-33.

Brief scores:

Jones Tuti Patriots 177/8 in 20 overs (R Sathish 74, Malolan Rangarajan 37, M.Abhinav 2-33) lost to Dindigul Dragons 178/6 (R Vivek 62, M Mohammed 36 n.o/, N Jagadeesan 31, R Sai Kishore 2-36).


‘Sankar Cement’ Maximum Sixes Award: R.Vivek (Dindigul Dragons)

‘Krishna Mines Super White Super Fours’ Award:  R.Sathish (Jones Tuti Patriots)

‘Equitas Funtastic’ Player of the Match:  R.Sathish (Jones Tuti Patriots)

‘Sprite Most Refreshing Player’ Award: R.Vivek (Dindigul Dragons)

‘Sankar Cement Man of the Match’ Award:   M.Mohammed (Dindigul Dragons)

‘Most numbers of DOT BALL bowled in the match’ Award: R.Jesuraj (Jones Tuti Patriots)