TNPL 3, Match 23, Review: Trichy Warriors stay in the hunt for playoffs with a clinical victory

TNPL 3, Match 23, Review: Trichy Warriors stay in the hunt for playoffs with a clinical victory

Both the teams will have to win their last encounter now to qualify for the playoffs.

Ruby Trichy Warriors
Ruby Trichy Warriors. (Photo Source: TNPL)

Ruby Trichy Warriors coasted to a seven-wicket win over Jones Tuti Patriots at the NPR College ground in Natham (Dindigul) on Wednesday, Aug 1, to keep their hopes alive of making it to the 2018 Sankar Cement-TNPL Playoffs.

Chasing 158 for victory, Warriors openers Bharath Shankar 51 (39b,7×4,1×6) and Mani Bharathi 26 (20b,3×4,1×6) began aggressively by scoring 38 runs in the first three overs and kept accumulating runs at a steady rate thereafter.

The star-studded Patriots bowling line-up tried to mount pressure on Warriors batsmen by not giving away easy runs but Baba Indrajith n.o. 50 (32b,2×4,3×6) and C Ganapathy n.o. 27 (21b,2×4) attacked in the end overs to clinch an important win.

What happened earlier?

Opting to bat, Patriots opener S Dinesh 30 (18b,3×4,1×6) and wicket-keeper S Anand 23  (22b, 4×4) stitched a 50-run stand in 32 balls for the second wicket. Trichy Warriors then removed both the set batsmen to storm back in the match.

S Abishiek 30 (27b,2×6) and debutant Nidhish Rajagopal 41 (26b,1×4,3×6) added 73 runs in 46 balls for the fourth wicket to stabilize the innings. Both were dismissed in a space of four balls as the Patriots were derailed once again. Warriors eventually managed to restrict Patriots to 157/7 in 20 overs.

Tonight’s win helps Warriors catch up with Lyca Kovai Kings and Tuti Patriots. All the three teams have won three and lost three matches so far and will need to win their last game for a chance to make the top-four.

Brief Scores

Jones Tuti Patriots 157/7 in 20 overs (N Rajagopal 41, S Dinesh 30, S Abishiek 30, Sonu Yadav 2-25, D Tamil Kumaran 2-28) lost to Ruby Trichy Warriors 158/3 in 19 overs ( Bharath Shankar 51, B Indrajith n.o. 50, C Ganapathy n.o. 27, Ganesh Moorthi 2-30) by seven wickets.


‘Krishna Mines Super White Super Fours’ Award: Bharath Shankar (Ruby Trichy Warriors)

‘Sankar Cement’ Maximum Sixes Award: Nidhish Rajagopal/Baba Indrajith (Jones Tuti Patriots/Ruby Trichy Warriors)

‘Equitas Funtastic’ Player of the Match:  Bharath Shankar (Ruby Trichy Warriors)

‘Sprite Most Refreshing Player’ Award:  Sonu Yadav (Ruby Trichy Warriors)

‘Most numbers of DOT BALL bowled in the match’ Award:  Sonu Yadav (Ruby Trichy Warriors)

‘Sankar Cement Man of the Match’ Award: Baba Indrajith (Ruby Trichy Warriors)

Keep following CricTracker for more news and updates