Batsmen With Most Sixes in IPL | Most IPL Sixes

IPL 2021: Top 5 batsmen with most sixes in IPL history

In this article, we are going to list out 5 players who have hit the most sixes in the Indian Premier League. 

Chris Gayle
Chris Gayle. (Photo Source: IPL/BCCI)

In a league like IPL, it is imperative for any team to have big hitters in their batting order. The teams have a massive advantage when some of their players can hit big sixes at will. It comes in handy most during the power plays and the death overs. This is the reason why some teams send their most explosive players to either finish the innings or as an opener. In this article, let’s take a look at-

Top 5 batsmen with most sixes in IPL history

Chris Gayle, who is considered as one of the strongest hitters of the ball is ruling the sixes chart with 349 maximums to his name in the league. He has accumulated these sixes in 131 innings played in the cash-rich league. His strike rate of 150.11 is enough to prove the fear among bowlers while bowling to the T20 legend. Gayle averages 41.13 in IPL and has scored 4772 runs till now with the help of 6 centuries and 31 half-centuries.

The dominance of Chris Gayle can be judged from the fact that the second player in the list i.e. AB de Villiers has 235 sixes in the league in comparison to Gayle’s total of 349. The Proteas cricketer has also hit 390 fours in the 156 innings and strikes at a rate of 151.91 per 100 balls. He has played for Bangalore and Delhi franchises in the tournament. AB de Villiers has aggregated 4849 runs at an average of 40.40 with 3 tons and 38 fifties in the league.

MS Dhoni holds the record for hitting most sixes in IPL among the Indian players. He has smashed 216 maximums in 182 innings in addition to 313 fours. Dhoni averages over 40 in the league while his strike rate is 136.75. He has been leading the Chennai Super Kings team since the inaugural season in 2008.

Mumbai Indians captain Rohit Sharma is fourth on the list of cricketers with the most sixes in the IPL. Rohit has 213 sixes to his name in the league and has hit 458 fours as well. He has accumulated over 5000 runs in 195 innings at an average of 31.31. Rohit has led the Mumbai team to title win 5 times, the most by any captain in the tournament history.

Indian captain Virat Kohli tops the list in terms of highest run-getters of the league but is on the fifth spot in terms of sixes hit. He has smashed 201 sixes in the 184 innings he has played, with 503 fours coming from the bat as well. He has aggregated 5878 runs in the cash rich league at an average of 38.16. This included 5 centuries and 39 half-centuries.           

Most sixes in IPL history

Player Innings Runs Avg Sixes
Chris Gayle 131 4772 41.13 349
AB de Villiers 156 4849 40.40 235
MS Dhoni 182 4632 40.99 216
Rohit Sharma 195 5230 31.31 213
Virat Kohli 184 5878 38.16 201