Top 5 Most Expensive Spells in IPL history

Top 5 Most Expensive Spells in IPL history

In T20 cricket one of the key factors of gauging a bowler’s performance is his Economy rate. Although getting belted for 8 to 9 runs an over is a common sight, some days bowlers concede more than 14- 15 runs per over. Crictracker takes a look into such moments and presents Top 5 most expensive spells in IPL history.

1. Ishant Sharma for SRH with 4-0-66-0 vs CSK (2013)
This was the match from last year IPL when Sunrisers met CSK in Hyderabad. Ishant shared the new ball with Dale Steyn but he was put under pressure from CSK from the first over itself conceding 11 of the over. It was Ishant’s second over when Vijay went on rampage hitting three consecutive sixes to Ishant. In the death overs when Ishant came back for his last over, he was ripped apart by Suresh Raina for 25 runs. CSK went to make a score of 223 with Raina unbeaten on 99. Although all the bowlers were taken apart by Hussey and Raina none of the bowlers conceded more than 45 runs. Eventually CSK went on to complete the SRH routing, winning by 77 runs. Ishant has a unique record of featuring in Best bowling figures in IPL as well (At No. 3) with his spell of 3-0-12-5 against Kochi Tuskers Kerala in 2011.

Ishant Sharma

2. Umesh Yadav for DD with 4-0-65-0 vs RCB (2013)
This game also saw a 99 run knock from another Indian batsman Virat Kohli in 2013. Bowling first in Bangalore, Yadav started pretty well in his first spell conceding only 18 runs. It was Kohli and ABD death over blitz which made Yadav concede 24 and 23 runs off his last two. It was his last overs by virtue of which RCB’s likely finish of 160 zoomed to a mammoth 183. DD fought well but fell short by 4 runs of RCB’s total.

Umesh Yadav

3. Sandeep Sharma for Kings XI Punjab with 4-0-65-1 vs SRH (2014)
This spell is as fresh as last night dream. Sandeep Sharma had so far an excellent IPL season for Kings XI until last night game. He had swung the ball and picked up wickets in almost every game. But the Hyderabad surface did not offer any swing and Sandeep Sharma was found wanting. Sandeep started economically with 13 runs first two. Captain Bailey gave him an extended first spell and he picked up the wicket Finch but was adjudged a no ball. After that, Shikhar Dhawan was all over Sandeep and he gave away 26 runs. When Sandeep came for his last over Dhawan was back in hut, but he found Naman Ojha waiting for him. Sandeep picked up a wicket in this over but he conceded 26 runs again. Hyderabad made 205 but Kings XI made a mockery of the total by chasing with more than 1 over to go thanks to their all-round batting show. Despite being hit for plenty, his bowling performance ended on winning side which might make Sandeep and Kings XI forget his poor show sooner than later.

Sandeep Sharma
Sandeep Sharma

4. Varun Aaron for DD with 4-0-63-2 vs CSK (2012)
This game was from IPL season 2012 and it was 2nd qualifier. While CSK was playing their home ground, Vijay was batting on surface where he has spent playing most of his domestic carrier. Vijay was in sublime touch and he targeted Aaron from his first over. Aaron picked up wickets of Hussey and Dhoni but Vijay kept on mounting pressure on Aaron and in last 4 balls he was trashed by Bravo for 20 runs. Vijay went on make 113 and CSK with 222. DD was always playing the catching game from first ball of the game and lost in the end by 86 runs.

Varun Aaron

5. Ashok Dinda for Pune Warriors India with 4-0-63-0 vs MI (2013)
Playing against Pune at Wankhede in 2013, MI chooses to bat. It was one of those games in history where two legends Tendulkar and Ponting opened for MI and Dinda found Tendulkar hitting him four consecutive fours in the first over itself. Dinda was saved for death overs by captain Mathews but by that time Rohit Sharma had settled down and he smashed Dinda all over the place. MI scored 183 and won comfortably by 41 runs.

Ashok Dinda

Stats update till 15th May 2014